We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My south african home! Join the happy tekweni family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #37 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“My south african home! Join the happy tekweni family!”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Well I actually stayed there in August and September 2009 but could scroll down to that date. Back then I was volunteering in Durban and spent four weeks at Tekweni (by the way, did you know tekweni is the Zulu name of Durban...though thats spelled slightly different). Anyways, I really loved everything about it! There's always people at tekweni and the atmosphere absolutely encourages you to meet new people. The staff, locals and longstay guests are like a huge family but they are always happy to welcome new people, may it me for a day, a week, a month or more. Everyone is super helpful if you have questions or need advice! every tuesday, thursday and sunday its braai (barbecue) time at tekweni - another great opportunity to meet new people! to keep things simple - tekweni is the place to be in Durban! Last time i was there in quite a big group of 20, in a couple of weeks I'll return on my own - and i cant wait!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umoja09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    41
    20
    21
    12
See reviews for
2
23
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Tekweni is somewhere my friends and I return to again and again. The location is amazing, right beside bars and pubs and places to grab food. Tekweni is always buzzing, always things going on braais and the like. I think what really makes the stay worth while is the hostel its self theres always an upbeat atmosphere and finally the staff - always smiling and the best people to party with!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstieperon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I traveled solo in SA for 6 months and Tekweni was by far one of the best places that I stayed. Friendly staff, comfy beds and good facitites, including regular Braai nights for a welcomed change to the normal travelers budget dinner.
Being a solo traveler, it was great having so many opportunities to meet other travelers, make friends and share stories.
I loved the chilled atmosphere during the day and then the buzz of the night, Tekweni knows how to party! But, if I wasnt up for it, there are lounges and comfy seating area's to relax, read or just be.
Tekweni is also in the perfect location if you are wanting to explore Durban. Easy access to transport, its just off Florida Road (restaurants, shops, galleries, bars, clubs), Fifa and Rugby stadium 2 minutes away and the popular Stables market where you can pick up traditional African items and join in with drumming circles.
Tekweni also has an information point open everyday, here you can find out anything you could possibly want to know about traveling in SA, where you can stay, how to get from here to there, whats good to see/do, very useful!
GOOD TIMES!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The best hostel in all South Africa!!!
Excellent personalized service, the staff really cares about you, that you are comfortable and help you with everything you need.
It's a safe and friendly place, the rooms are very spacious and clean.
I loved this place and people there!
100% recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahab, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I have been comming and going to Durban for more than 10 years time. For me the natural choise have always been Tekweni as no matter how i have seen changes in all these years its still on topp of my list of places to stay (and yes, i have tried other ones just out of curiosity). Not only cuz its the best of location, but manly for the fantastic staff. To have a caring family around when one is a solo traveller away from home that can organize trips, share information about what one should know, how to be safe and such means all in a country like South africa. As for the quality of the backpackers one have to keep in mind it is just that, it will always be full of storys, happy and tired people, and a good party for the ones who want is always around the corner, with the best start in the Tekweni Bar of course. Thank You people of Tekweni for everything i have shared with u guys over the years and for helping me out in the most difficult times and situations..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liv42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Above says it all, right in the centre of Durban, everything you need is within walking distance, with friendly staff to give you great advice. Tekweni has an amazing atmosphere and great pool to cool off in.

Thanks guys for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icanfindaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I've been to Teweni Backpackers countless times - returning there on every one of my many trips to South Africa (for work and leisure). It may not be the most upmarket of places to stay, but the vibe, the staff and the relaxed, upbeat, sociable nature of the place make up for all of that. The bar's open morning till night, music plays all day, providing a sountrack to days spent relaxing by the pool, or in it's imfamous Marley Lounge. It's a great place to meet people and the staff (in the hostel and in it's fantastic tour office) provide a brilliant welcome to Durban and first rate travel/tourist info. It's in a safe area - just off the vibey Florida Road (stumbling distance from Durban's coolest bars and restaurants). Definitely one of the top hostels in Durban and South Africa! Love it and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
1.8 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#2 of 80 in Durban
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Khanya Kude
Khanya Kude
#16 of 255 in Durban
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#6 of 255 in Durban
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lambert House
Lambert House
#13 of 255 in Durban
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekweni Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Property: Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing