We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they lost my reservation!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Banana Backpackers

Banana Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Backpackers
Ranked #52 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“they lost my reservation!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I came to this place late at evening, a woman travelling alone. They told me that tehy lost my reservation although I made it a month earlier back home and got a confirmation.
Then I had to stay in a dorm with ten others both men and women. I did not at all feel at ease with this. One good thing was that the day after a girl worked there and she let me borrow her computer wihtout paying,
It was poorly cleaned.
The only thing I liked was that I met two really interesting people staying there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeenStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    9
    11
    33
See reviews for
2
10
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Cockroaches all over the place, in the kitchen (together with all their other insect-friends), the couch and the rooms. Also spotted some rats. Sheets were dirty, bathroom was not clean at all. The staff is just lazy and do not want to help you with anything.
The hostel is located in the Red-Light district in Durban, not the place to be! You cannot go out by yourself when it gets dark. Do'nt go here!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Els134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I hated it here. We were booked at another hostel and they overbooked and sent us here. We arrived from an amazing few days in Cape Town to this disgusting, poorly cleaned disgusting excuse for a hostel. I'm not really a priss, and my boyfriend and I have travelled all over, to dingy places for $3 a night in Asia, to 5 star resorts... so we're cool to stay anywhere. I actually used the free wifi to book myself another room at a hotel double the prices of this one on the beach because I hated it so much. I felt like there were bugs in the bed, lighting was terrible. I wouldn't have touched the floor with my bare feet if you'd had paid me. People were running around screaming at 5:30am, and there was a dude sitting outside of the locked doors with a HUGE gun. SHADY area too... we were instructed to not walk around but to take a taxi everywhere, which I was happy to do to get the hell out of there. The worst. If this place had a rating of 0/5 I would give it.

WORST STAY EVER.

Room Tip: don't! Never go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Dirty, rats, poorly managed .... What more can we say? Area not very salubrious. Kitchen really dirty - were rats and in need of a thorough scrub, with disinfectant....No action was taken by the owners against guests indulging in prohibited substances. Very disappointing. Recommend you find other accommodation. They seem to think affordable accommodation means that it can be dirty and unkempt. Which is not necessarily the case! Will NOT be returning.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have stayed in over a dozen hostels and this was by far the worst place I have ever been to. I arrived late and was so looking forward to falling right asleep. I even paid the $200 R for a single because I wanted a good nights sleep and a little bit of privacy after spending weeks in another dorm-style hostel. When I got to the dorm I immediately wanted to leave but at 11pm at night without another plan it didn't seem possible. The sheet on the bed was threadbare and had holes. The room smelled horrible. It was dirty, even with trash on the floor and bookshelf. The curtains didn't shield you from anything and the blanket on the bed was so gross I wrapped myself in my own jacket instead. In the morning I went to the bathroom. The showers and toilets were dirty - beyond anything I have seen at a hostel. They were so old, no hand soap, no door - no good. The "free" internet didn't work and when asked for help I was just told it was fine, and they walked away. Staff didn't smile, offer any sort of advice, tour around upon check in or anything other than "here's a key, your rooms on the left." There are plenty of hostels in Durban - do anything to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I found the banana back of,ers to be absolutely horrendous. When I arrived I was severly shocked by the conditions there. There were holes in the walls, smashed windows, glass on the floor, smoking inside, unattended raw meat in the, very dirty, kitchens, and no locks on the doors. I felt unsafe and insecure there. I personally would not reccommend this back packers to any one.

I actually asked to be signed out after a mere hour of being there.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Dorms were cheap, clean and airy, the staff were happy friendly and easy going, there was 4m diameter pool in the courtyard area, one of those plastic things standing on the ground.
The showers had seen better days, the kitchen was again worn, and I did spot a rat disappearing into one of the cupboards, staff were suitably shocked!
WiFi was free, security good, it well situated for the beach about 4 blocks way, shops and restaurants keen to kill you with junk food abound, the beggars and dodgy looking guy hanging around the streets and to the ambiance (don’t wear your Rolex) pick the bones out of that, you get what you paid for.

Room Tip: Spray the bed with insect repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1-RestlessSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
2.9 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 80 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#131 of 246 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#154 of 246 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#178 of 246 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Backpackers

Property: Banana Backpackers
Address: 61 St Mathias Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing