We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seedy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Banana Backpackers

Banana Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Backpackers
Ranked #52 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seedy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed briefly and went to another hostel.

Just a few things that I haven't seen mentioned:

- This backpackers is located on the first floor of a rather dilapidated 4 or 5 story building. There is a brothel called "Sonja's Escorts" on the ground floor, which should give you an idea of the area.

- One of the staff members was friendly, as for the rest, you feel privileged if they even smile at you. Forget watching TV, as the staff are permanently watching local-language soap operas.

- It's unbearably noisy. Apart from the noise coming from the brothel at night, I was there on a Sunday and there is a church a few floors above. There was non-stop shouting by the preacher over a microphone, accompanied by drums, electric guitars etc. This carried on the entire morning and some of the afternoon.

The one good thing I could say about the place is that it's cheap. And so it should be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazi-Wazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    9
    11
    33
See reviews for
2
10
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

When we first arrived here it looked really nice, there is a nice "courtyard" where you can sit and braai. But then we went to our room... we did not know that we had signed up for the Nelson Mandela Experience.. Our room was 5 or 6 square meters, no window and a sliding door wing a hanging lock.. yep that felt like prison. Since my friend is slightly claustrofobic, i requested a different room, wich they understood and we did get a bigger one. We were happy and sat in the courtyard all evening with some other backpackers. When we were ready to get some sleep, we saw that our whole room was full of cockroaches, they were in our bed, on the wall and on the floor. luckily there was a guy that wanted to kill all the cockraoches for us, so we went to bed after 5 kills. but then we noticed there was a hole in the balcony door, so in a couple of minutes there were 10 new cockroaches in our room and crowling in our bed. We did not sleep here, even though we allready paid for two nights. The only thing we came back for the next day was for our cockroach killing hero, to have a nice braai and some drinks with him, because it is a cosy place, but you really don't want to sleep there..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent there few days in a 8 bed room with access to Balcony and payed 120 R each.
Close to city center and main amenities. Less than 20 min by walk from the beach.
Good staff and basic facilities.
Met really nice and easy going travelers from all over the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

When you have no place to stay, you are young, brave and poor...it could be enough for you. It was dirty, everything was shared and till the morning there were two more strange people in our room. But the staff was very friendly and finally other customers too. It's good lokated, near the citycentre, near a beach. And wathing the night street from a terrace while drinking a beer was quite well-being.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Dirty rooms with cockroaches added to the poor state of the building and apparent lack of pride shown by the staff and/or owners.

I would not recommend this backpackers to anyone and would not go back there myself. I will honestly pull an all nighter next time to avoid staying there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank garethbroekhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Ok, the rooms are passable, barely, and the staff are great, but that's the high point. In western countries it would be condemned. Fine for a late night check in and early morning checkout, but that's it. Just avoid! So many better options for similar prices.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jcm199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not the best of places it could be better and the place needs work kitchen needs renovations a bit outdated rooms are too small a friendly atmosphere showers were clean when i was there,the place has potential good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
2.9 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 80 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#131 of 246 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#154 of 246 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#178 of 246 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Backpackers

Property: Banana Backpackers
Address: 61 St Mathias Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing