We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable value for money ”

Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
Ranked #15 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value for money ”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Loved this place which is across the road from Warner Beach. Went with out 3 & 1 year old and they loved the place didn't want to leave . Food was good and staff very friendly. A place well looked after on a daily basis and many returning guests who have nothing but good things to say. This plZce should be called a resort not a back packers

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello Daryl and Leyla,

Thank you very, very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge!
It is great to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay to the fullest!
Indeed, it is hard work and very time consuming to maintain the premises - however, certainly worthwhile doing by receiving comments like yours=)
We hope to seeing you again in future!
Wishing you all the best.
Romy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I spent one week in this beautiful and well-run place.
The rooms are super clean and serviced on a daily basis. The food, especially the Indian bunny chows are superb. We were greeted by Fiona an amazing employee who we believe was the supervisor/manager as she looked after us during the entire stay.
Both the rock pools were kept super clean and the lounge and kitchen areas were in top notch condition. The grounds are very safe and the ocean views are simply beautiful.
My only negative or semi-negative comment was that unlike most other backpackers, Blue Sky does not offer a book exchange/library for those who want to real during their stay. They did however sell old paperbacks etc...at relatively high prices.
Other than that this place is great. Durban is less than 30 minutes away so no hassles and it was nice to get out of the city.
Truly a very very well run establishment.
Romy, I am sorry that we didn't meet although your communications by email for friendly..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGill_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello Christine and Mark,

Thank you very, very much for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at Blue Sky Mining!
We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with room, grounds, facilities and services rendered at Blue Sky Mining!
And yes, it is a "MUST" to try a traditional "Bunny Chow" as it is one of the most typical meals in and around Durban!
Furthermore, thanks a lot for your honesty regarding the suggested book exchange facility - we will have a look into that=)
We hope to seeing you again in future!
Wishing you all the best,
Romy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favourite backpackers. The rooms and the staff are very nice. They serve good food for a good price. Between the houses lays a beautiful garden with two pools. The decoration of the house is unique.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leandrae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hello Leandra,

Thank you very much for your awesome comment!!!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the food served at Blue Sky Mining!
We hope to seeing you again in future.
Wishing you a "Happy Easter"=)
All the best,
Romy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Lucia, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've only stayed here for one night but we were VERY sad to go! Blue Sky Mining is an unbelievable backpackers. Friendly staff, a great restaurant and well stocked bar - at very reasonable prices! The rooms are very well maintained and from our side, really not one complaint! You REALLY have to go out of your way to find something wrong. The atmosphere and the view goes hand on hand - unbelievable. We can really recommend Blue Sky Mining. But please don't make the same mistake we did - you cannot stay for only 1 night...stay as long as possible, you really will not regret it!
Well done guys - we'll never forget it.
Jaenie and Gerda

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello Jaenie and Gerda,

Thank you very, very much for your lovely feedback!
It is great to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay to the fullest!
Hope to seeing you again in future.
Wishing you all the best!
Romy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at Blue Sky Mining backpackers and it really was a little piece of paradise. It has 2 heavenly swimming pools, a little shop where you can buy necklaces for as little as R20, a few minutes walk to the beach and local shops, and the rooms were very well decorated. I really enjoyed my night here and was very dissapointed that we could only stay for one night. Definitely make this a stop on your Durban adventure!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello Mel,

Thanks a million for your lovely comment!!!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to seeing you again!!!
All the best,
Romy and the Blue Sky Mining Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is def one of the better lodges/backpackers I have ever stayed at. 7-10min walking distance from the beach is totally worth it considering the view.

It has its own delicious restaurant, great activities/facilities, 2 pools and the staff are really great. Dont be mislead by the entrance, this property is very big and very well run. All rooms are super comfy and clean.

We stayed at a self catering that was perfect for 3 with an amazing view of the ocean even had a jacuzzi tub Highly recommended. Warner beach/Amazimtoti is not the best areas in the south but its totally worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJakes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hello Jael and friends,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Blue Sky Mining Backpackers & Lodge in Warner Beach.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hope to seeing you again in the near future!
All the best,
Romy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights camping. Food is great and the views and proximity to the beach are amazing (even saw whales one evening from bar/dining area). Staff all friendly and helpful. Makes a very nice relaxing stop along your trip, with the area feeling very safe. The camping spots however are quite small which is alright as long as you don't have a large tent.

The only problem I can think of is that it is advertised as having free WiFi (Coast2Coast I think it was), which it doesn't you have to pay a small fee (think was R30) which isn't much but after expecting free does miff you off a tad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSkyMining1234, Manager at Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hello Chris,

Thank you very much for your positive comment with regards to Blue Sky Mining's accommodation, services and facilities.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Good news: We are busy extending our camping grounds in order to accommodate more tents (small and big ones) offering lots of space!!! Furthermore, we are offering tented camping as from the mid of September 2013 onwards!
Last but not least, we do charge R 30.00 for using the wifi code (once off payment!!!) - however, we might be making changes in the near future - especially to please international travellers that frequently go online!!!
Thanking you for choosing to stay at Blue Sky Mining.
All the best,
Romy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
19.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
19.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
19.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
18.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge

Property: Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge
Address: 5 Nelson Palmer Rd, Durban 4126, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Sky Mining Backpackers and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing