We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome staff and fun place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Hippo Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, awesome staff and fun place!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in January with my Grandfather and my brother and we loved it! Very spacious and quiet when you need it to be, yet also fun and lively. The rooms are on the smaller side but they are really clean as well as ours had a great bathroom. There is also a rooftop bar where you can relax, enjoy the view of the city, and meet some pretty awesome travelers. The staff is super friendly and if you need anything at all they are the first to lend a hand. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners, who are also extremely helpful and nice. They have put a lot of work into the place and it really does show. We even told them about the wifi being a bit slow and they were quick to fix it. You are minutes away from the beach where you can also find the Ushaka Marine World. This place is filled with little shops and offers an array of ocean activities. If you are up for a short drive I would definitely recommend heading to Victoria Market, as it is quite the experience. If you are visiting Durban and are looking for an awesome place to stay, as well as a great price - this is it! I would suggest booking for more than one day. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    85
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
15
42
77
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

the people who work here are great. i reserved over the phone, and they texted me driving directions that were right on [no gps and first time in Durban]. just when i thought I'd gone and taken a wrong turn, the directions came through. When I arrived as well, the person on duty helped me get settled in, set me up with my baz bus ticket, helped me make arrangements to return my rental car. the dorm i stayed at [with the en suite bath] was nice and clean as was the bathroom. they are repainting and redoing a few rooms so the smell of paint was a bit obvious in parts of the common areas, but there is a lot of open space that you can hang out and do whatever, so it wasn't a real issue. the kitchen is nice and kept clean, and with plenty of plates and cups, etc. the only thing I'd say is that if there is a big group in the common area, the sound can echo a bit and be a bit loud, but that wasn't really an issue for my stay. The location is pretty good at least for a short durban stay. it's a few minutes walk to uShaka Marine world, which i didn't visit, but there are a few restaurants in there for a quick bite to eat, and it's just at the beach. It's also where the people mover bus leaves from, and you can use that to quickly get around the major sites, or get a day pass and explore a bit further afield.

Only thing I'd say was missing are hooks. The bathroom [en suite in the dorm] has no hooks for hanging up towels or clothing. The room only has one on the back of the door.

Room Tip: The en suite dorm is nice and if you're first in you can snag the bunklss bed in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We visited it during Xmas- New yr. Stay was excellent. Small rooms. But for the price you cannot expect anything more. very helpful and nice staff. one of the best stays of my travels in south africa.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A very nice place to stay more than one day. I do love the kitchen and the public space. The laundry service is also very good.
There are a lot of information at the backpacker for you to plan your days.
It's just next to uShaka so that it's very convenient to travel around the city by PeopleMover bus.
You can walk to the beach (but avoid doing that alone in the evening).
The internet is quite slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Happy Hippo is very nice and the staff are really friendly.
The location is not great and the outside looks dull and dirty. The area was not helped by the fact that when we arrived a car had just been broken into outside!
Once inside though, our opinion was greatly improved! Lots of open space and the rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in Umjondolo and it was lovely. Only thing missing from the room was a dustbin. Best part is that it is a 2 minute walk from Ushaka.
Was a great experience and will definately stay there again if we have a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegzC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The first thing we noticed was the friendly forever smiling staff at the reception, then we were greeted by the 'happy' owners and greeted again by the cleaning staff. Everyone we met (staff) was donning a genuine smile, full of positive energy and ready to assist at any given time. That was just our arrival, which made us feel warm and fuzzy inside. The second thing we noticed was the amazing space and the cleanliness, thats a two thumbs up. Then came the rooms, another fantastic surprise. Loads of space, comfy beds, clean linen, storage space for personals and a very well thought of and helpful Durban guide (placed next to your bed). We then took a stroll upstairs to the roof top, what a delicious treat. The roof top boasts space, views, seating, a bar and 'Pops (bar manager and a remarkable host). This small guy has a big sense of humor, dropped whatever it was that he was busy with to garnish us with info and a good few jokes. All in all, an unbelievable fantastic stay. Happy Staff, Happy Venue, Happy Guests. Thank You

Room Tip: Every room is amazing. It just depends if you want more privacy, then you choose your room according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_worldwyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezulwini
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Clean, well laid out, convenient location & well run.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusekwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
1.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hippo Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hippo Accommodation

Property: Happy Hippo Accommodation
Address: 222 Mahatma Gandhi Road | KwaZulu-Natal, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Hippo Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from a passion for traveling, the legacy of the Hippo Hide has been passed on to this unique and amazing lodge. Situated approximately 500m from Durban's best beaches and right next to uShaka Marine World, you couldn't ask for a better location. Durban's first purpose built backpackers hostel for the discerning budget traveller, welcomes you to come and enjoy state of the art facilities. These include the amazing roof top party and recreational area, known as "The Globe", FREE WIFI, travel desk with up to date information and the best deals. This is your one stop youth hostel with all your amenities close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing