We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious and modern”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Hippo Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This hostel is in a old warehouse so the space is really big, yes, there is not a lot of natural light in the common room but it is very colorful decorated and at least the double room we stayed in had a very big window so this is not a problem in the rooms. Location is good because it is very near to the Marine World and the beach. We had a nice time here, thank you very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaTaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Happy Hippo Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Cool, modern hostel with huge common area upstairs, and all of the rooms facing out into this area – a layout that was unusual, but made it all feel quite safe and open. The rooftop bar is a great feature - it rained when we were there so we didn’t get to enjoy it as much, but a fun place to relax and have a drink.
The biggest drawback to this place was that the location seemed a bit dodgy, and the streets at night were completely empty. When we arrived in the evening, hungry and ready for dinner, walking to the nearest restaurant (at uShaka Marine World) on empty streets was somewhat unsettling. It would be nice if the hostel had some food options or a café/pub with food closer by.
Overall we had a good stay here - we wanted an inexpensive, safe, clean place to stay in Durban and this worked well for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Perfect place to stay when wanting to experience durban! Clean place with friendly staff and wonderful service. Dont think twice about the Happy Hippo! Would cone back any day... Perfect for locals aswell as international guests

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeezyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A great place to stay. Good location, just around the corner from Ushaka Marine world and a few meters from the main beachfront.
A little noisy on the street at night but nothing to complain about.
A nice bar area on the roof top to soak up the sun while having a beer.
All in all I would recommend this hostel as it is comfortable and cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelBee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent two nights in Durban at Happy Hippo. We had a double room with private bathroom and it was a nice, clean room. All the rooms are situated around the "living area", and you could hear every sound coming from there. We didn't have any problems with the staff, but they weren't amazing either. Happy Hippo is perfectly located if you want to visit Ushaka. Its just around the corner from the hostel. But I wouldn't walk down Mahatma Ghandi road in the opposite direction from Ushaka, as it is filled with dodgy ppl.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa_Ka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We travelled up the coast from Capetown to Durban over two months and this was by far the least friendly place we stayed. It is unfortunate because the place has a lot of potential. the communal areas were beautifully turned out but v open and not welcoming, the rooms were lovely, beautifully clean and tidy.

We spend three nights there so met a good range of staff and none of them were friendly or helpful, we are v easy going and not demanding customers but basic questions were met with hostility. You need to know where you are going in Durban as some areas are not great and they did not help ease our woes at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpandmrsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Greetings from a sunny Durban
Thank you so much for your review, we do embrace contructive critism as it all helps to grow a business. The only real problem that we do have with your content is that you cannot point out names of the perpetrators? Our staff have been wearing name badges for five years now, so as to be singled out by the public for both positive and negative experiences. Talking about an establishments' staff in general cannot help the owners or the employees at all when identifying a problem, as everyone has been thrown into the same mix.
I fully understand your bad experience and for that we apologise profusely, but now we are not able to deal with the matter as so much time has lapsed. Please understand that some/most business owners strive to improve & erradicate bad influences in their work environment. We have new energies of passionate staff, in fact a completely new bar has been built on the roof top as well as up-grades in some of the rooms.
I really do hope that you can understand how much power you have when writing a review and how much damage one can do to someone/thing without dealing with the situation at the time. You did stay 3 nights & did have plenty of time to chat to us or the management? Writing about it 11 months later does not help anyone at all. I am puzzled as to why Tripadvisor would allow a review that is 11 months old to be posted now.
Thank you for your time, kind regards
Michelle & Micky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

During our holiday in SA we visited Happy Hippo(HH) in Durban. We came late by BAZbus so we were tired. The service in the reception was really nice and friendly and after a little tour we went to the room. The rooms are very nice, simple but effective! We were in HH during New Years Eve, HH organised a good party in their rooftopbar which is fantastic. The staff is very friendly and is always willing to help out and is willing to book tours as well. The kitchen is very big and very clean. Thumbs up Happy Hippo!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortewegjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hippo Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hippo Accommodation

Address: 222 Mahatma Gandhi Road | KwaZulu-Natal, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range: £12 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Hippo Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from a passion for traveling, the legacy of the Hippo Hide has been passed on to this unique and amazing lodge. Situated approximately 500m from Durban's best beaches and right next to uShaka Marine World, you couldn't ask for a better location. Durban's first purpose built backpackers hostel for the discerning budget traveller, welcomes you to come and enjoy state of the art facilities. These include the amazing roof top party and recreational area, known as "The Globe", FREE WIFI, travel desk with up to date information and the best deals. This is your one stop youth hostel with all your amenities close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing