We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place, Very Clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Hippo Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Great hostel, very clean and comfortable rooms.

We had a double room with en-suite which was as nice as a hotel!

Great kitchen facilities.

Good location for beach and ushaka marine world.

Wifi is fairly pricey and un-reliable...

Staff could be much more helpful about tours and attractions etc.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattcooke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Happy Hippo Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

It seems many people have differing opinions of this place. Someone I know called it “shady” but I did not feel that it was at all shady. The crowd is really a mix of young college students, older tourists, NGO workers on a tight budget, and European travelers. I found the vibe was really great and it was nice to meet and even socialize with other guests at the backpackers. I think we met people from Germany, England, Canada, and Mexico along with other Americans.

The area where HH is situated, right next to Ushaka Marine world is fairly safe, though a girl coming back alone at night ( not a smart move anywhere in SA) was accosted and chased by a man when we were there. This is a rare occurrence. There is a safe for locking up valuables and the door has a buzzer, CCTV camera, and code access. There was no security guard in sight, which was a bit confusing. Still, my buddy and I did not feel unsafe. It’s HIGHLY advisable to take a metered taxi at night or the People Mover rather then walk back to your hostel.

As with most backpackers, Happy Hippo has a fairly open layout of lounge areas and clustered rooms. There is an internet café and a rooftop bar, but no food on the premises as it is self-catering. A kitchen with a fridge is there for you to use and tea and coffee are free ( coffee snobs like me can even use their coffee-maker). Need a quick bite to eat but don’t feel like walking over to Ushaka ? Grab a snack at Engen or a meal at Vic’s Bar, a Portuguese bar and restaurant opposite the backpackers that has insanely good Calamari. Rooms were clean ( Banana Backpackers is just plain DIRTY) with comfortable beds and lockable doors, the bathroom was also clean. The bar upstairs is a nice place to relax, but can be a pain to deal with if you room is underneath as the noise is only slightly contained. All in all, it’s a nice, cheap, and laid back place for the budget traveler. If you are looking for something more upscale and out of the city centre, use Hippo Hide in Berea.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOsmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Nice place and special thanks to Lynette the bar tender! Awesome stay in Durban!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank RikuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

An OK backpackers but the local manager is quite useless, doesnt care for guests at all & spends most of his time on his mobile phone chatting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierrePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Firstly, We do not have a local male manager, so I am not quite sure who you are refering to. If it is me the Owner, I take offence to the comment that I am quite useless; as I built and maintain the building. I am not a manager! We have sufficient staff to help the customers with their needs, If I was on the phone it was probably a business call.
I have looked at your reviews of other backpackers and I suggest that you no longer use this type of facility as none of them are up to your standards!
These type of reviews only serve to harm a business that otherwise receive good reviews. You seem disenchanted with backpacker accommodation and would probably be better served staying at a Hilton or Protea where everything is perfect for five times the price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The room itself was nice and clean, but the bed was uncomfortable. The rooms are also set around a communal area, which makes them very noisy. The location is bit dodgy as well. All in all its not bad, but just really, really overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tactix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We stayed here just one night and found that the area it was in felt rather dark and dodgy, the staff however were very helpful. We had an ensuite double room which was nice enough and clean, although the bed was rather uncomfy and there wasnt anywhere to put bags. Kitchen was ok, although there is room for improvement. Felt it was a little overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequentjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Open plan main area, all ammenities accessible and clean. Staff friendly. Bar, Wifi, Fans. Perfect and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hippo Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hippo Accommodation

Address: 222 Mahatma Gandhi Road | KwaZulu-Natal, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range: £12 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Hippo Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from a passion for traveling, the legacy of the Hippo Hide has been passed on to this unique and amazing lodge. Situated approximately 500m from Durban's best beaches and right next to uShaka Marine World, you couldn't ask for a better location. Durban's first purpose built backpackers hostel for the discerning budget traveller, welcomes you to come and enjoy state of the art facilities. These include the amazing roof top party and recreational area, known as "The Globe", FREE WIFI, travel desk with up to date information and the best deals. This is your one stop youth hostel with all your amenities close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing