We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest, superb location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Neuk Guest House
Ranked #45 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We recently stayed here during the World Cup and it was a great place to wind down after 2 weeks of partying. Very comfy beds, very nice furnishings. Lovely host who was only to happy to help us when needed.

The guest house is located only a couple of minutes walk from the top of Florida Road where you will find all the best bars / restaurants Durban has to offer. This is a safe environment too which is an important factor when making your decision.

I highly reccommend The Neuk to anyone considering this as an option.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoodontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for The Neuk Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

We only stayed at the Neuk for 1 night, but we would have been happy to stay longer.
We felt instantly at home in this charming house, the owners are very helpful and we felt at home as soon as we set foot inside.
My first impression was : Wow, this is the doll house I always imagined when I was a child.. It is decorated with taste, and you just feel spoilt staying here, it is very quaint.
The owners went out of their way to make sure that we had a taxi at 05:00AM when we checked-out, as we had a plane to catch, and everything went without a glitch.
The guesthouse is ideally located near to restaurants and bars so you can take a nice walk to dinner/lunch.
Only disappointment was the one night stay, we could have gotten used to our lovely surroundings..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I Booked the Neuk on the fly after fleeing the worst B&B experience of my life (164 Boutique Hotel). I used to live in Durban and the service of the Neuk was a great re-introduction to Durban's down home charm. The service was charming and delightful and the room was dramatically romantic furnished with amusing antques and an *enormous* king size bed with heavenly sheets. Windows on three sides and very quiet and private. Its a great location close to restaurants and shops on Florida as well as a centered in a convenient part of town. All the rooms are beautifully appointed and newly renovated, although one is quite small.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank canadiantabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

My family & I stayed in this guest house for one night in September. The accommodation was arranged by the owners of Rosetta House (see my review). The guest house is in a safe residential area, about 5 minutes walk from Florida Road which is where you have lots of restaurants. Its also close to Durban ICC (about 10 minutes drive). and is therefore suitable for corporate visitors as well as tourists. The guest house is run by Haley who is very hospitable & friendly.

We had 2 rooms in this house and they were both beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean.The premises has a lovely garden and pool which you could enjoy in summer.

We had to leave the guest house at 7.45a.m. to catch a flight to Port ELizabeth & were delighted when Haley offered to have a breakfast ready for us at 7a.m. Thanks Haley much appreciated.
Breakfast was substantial, juice, fruit, cereals, tea, coffee, toast as well as a hot breakfast if desired.

Durban had a power outage on the evening we arrived, not a problem at all, showers were still hot & as Haley had provided us with torches we could find everything we needed easily.

Haley had organised a taxi to take us to the airport, when it did not arrive on time she was on to the firm immediately to ask why they had not arrived & to remind them that we were going to the airport. The taxi then arrived promptly following her intervention.


A lovely place to stay, nice and friendly and definitely one I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank smilingirishIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
0.5 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#6 of 43 in Durban
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#12 of 43 in Durban
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
0.2 mi away
Holland House B&B
Holland House B&B
#26 of 256 in Durban
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neuk Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neuk Guest House

Address: 445 Innes Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Neuk Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neuk Guest House is a small family run guest house set in the bustling and trendy suburb of Morningside, Durban. We like to think of it as an oasis. Easy walking distance to parks, restaurants/coffee shops and a shopping center and a short drive to Durban's Golden mile Beachfront, Moses Mabhida Stadium, Greyville Racecourse and Golf courses. All rooms are en suite with bath and shower, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, selected satellite television stations, free wifi and a hot and cold breakfast is included. Swimming pool and off street parking are also provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing