We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little beach hideaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ansteys Beach Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely little beach hideaway!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here for 3nights during our travels through SA backpackers and hostels. All we can say is that it was a gem of a place right on the beach with the comfiest bed ever, shared bathroom but always clean and vacant, own secure parking space, tv, towels and toiletries (always a nice luxury in backpackers), and staff always seemed helpful and friendly enough. We stayed in the double room next to Heidi's cafe which is attached - amazing breakfast and soooo cheap! Defo recommend this place to any travellers or even couples going on holiday. Room was 400r a night for both of us which is slightly more than normal for backpackers, but it was worth it. Thanks guys xxxx

Room Tip: The double next to Heidi's cafe was so comply and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
22
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

wonderful spot to relax right next to the beach. close to great surfing and not far from other spots in town. Rudy & Tash are model entrepreneurs and this is an excellent family-run business. The accommodations vary but the property is kept clean and orderly, and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The bar is right on premises, there is a pool and breakfast cafe as well. Highly recommend to all for a great value, location and experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed at Anstey's earlier this summer but haven't had a chance to write a review until now. The hostel was able to set me up with a transfer to and from the airport for a fee. The driver was excellent. The hostel is quite far from the airport but very close to the beach.

l'm recommending this hostel primarily because it is a quick stroll to the beach and inexpensive. The bed and bathroom were also relatively clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Awesome place! friendly staff and a cool place. We where camping and had a dubbel for a night. I think you do need a car to get into town and stuff but even when it was raining we had a good time and had fun time! Tnxs!

Eva and Michiel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in a self catering apartment for 3 nights and had a very nice, relaxing stay.

The staff were very friendly and the accommodation was comfortable.

There isn't really much to do in the area and I wouldn't recommend staying there without a car as it is pretty far away from anything but it's perfect for those who want affordable but quiet accommodation.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alecpooley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Only stayed for one short night, so didn't really get a major picture. Stayed in a mixed dorm, which was quite ok, staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkiUppgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greyton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We've stayed there for 1 night (I planned 3). With the Baz Bus we arrived at 9.50 pm and the bar, pool, swimming pool, TV and lounge, everything closed down at 10 pm. We haven't been welcomed, the stuff was quite grumpy.
The dorms where so small I could hardly fit my suitcase in, even though we've had 2 free beds. It was raining like hell, so we couldn't do anything else than stay at the room (we didn't know the area). The sanitary part was really dirty and you can't even lock the door or hook your towel inside the shower.
It might be nice if you look for a quiet place to relax and have some peace and sun!

Room Tip: Don't know about the other dorms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,394 reviews
5.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
5.8 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
6.7 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansteys Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansteys Beach Backpackers

Property: Ansteys Beach Backpackers
Address: 477 Marine Drive, Bluff | Entrance from the beach on Foreshore Drive, Durban 4052, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anstey Beach Self Catering Apartments and Backpackers, owned and run by Rudy and Tash Palmboom and managed by Michelle, is situated on the beautiful unspoilt beaches of the Bluff. Come and enjoy some friendly, laid back coastal hospitality while you soak up the sights and sun. Fall under the Ansteys spell and embrace the warm, happy family atmosphere - whether you spend your day at the beach, or relax by the poolside in our tropical garden - you are sure to enjoy yourself! We offer different types of accommodation to suit all budgets - from backpacker type dorms, to more upmarket self catering apartments. Ansteys is not your conventional backpacker hostel or holiday apartment resort, but it has it's own kind of magic, which is why so many guests return time and time again. Heidi's Cafe is situated on the premises and is a cosy and popular little cafe/coffee shop which serves good filter coffee, cappuccinos, delicious, hearty or healthy breakfasts, as well as home baked treats. The beaches on the Bluff are beautiful and great to explore, especially at low tide when you can explore all the rock pools along the way. Ansteys has consistent good surf and is a quick stroll away from the world famous surf break Cave Rock. It is also one of the most popular kitesurfing beaches. For those wanting to learn how to surf, book our very popular "get-up-and-go" surf lessons. The Bluff boasts beautiful protected and unspoilt beaches (lovely warm seawater!) with excellent lifeguards and shopping centres all within walking distance. We are a quick 15 kilometre drive from Durban City Centre, the ICC, the sport stadiums and Ushaka Marine World. We offer many facilities - among them a swimming pool area set in a tropical garden, pool table, internet and wi-fi and a small beach and surf shop. We pride ourselves on ensuring there is a real happy and relaxed village atmosphere here, so come on over & share in our unique lifestyle...we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing