We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ansteys Beach Backpackers
Ranked #10 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2013. I was alone n had an cottage. Everything was lovely n clean. (until I unpacked!) the staff were so friendly I had no issues asking anything or getting to know anyone! They organised the Lesotho trip for me and I highly recommend that too!!! Ansteys made my holiday :) xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzicathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
21
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perfectly situated for beach days. Taxi's are easy to organize for trips to uShaka Marine World or to town.
Staff members are absolutely lovely! Ablutions are clean and easily accessible. Double bed cabin was also in very good condition.
It was my first trip to Durban, thank you Ansteys for making it a good one!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Thinking about going think again. Rooms smell like miff. Freezer breaks down and your food gets spoiled. Depart earlier and you dont recieve a refund or do the owners replace your goods that got spoiled. Much better places out there stay away from Ansteys Beach

Room Tip: Do not go here for accomadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose-Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 bed room with 2 other girls I was travelling with.

Pros
- short walk to beach
- clean but small rooms
- staff is friendly and very helpful
- Heidi's Cafe is great :)
- secure parking
- big kitchen with room for your groceries

Cons
- quite a bit away from Durban
- bathrooms are limited
- have to pay for wi-fi/internet

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here to start out our trip through SA and it was just the right place. We reserved a little chalet that felt completely private even though the bathroom was shared. My favorite part (apart from the bar with the refreshing savannahs ) was being able to hear the ocean at night. This was my first experience at a hostel and it did not disappoint. I certainly look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here for 3nights during our travels through SA backpackers and hostels. All we can say is that it was a gem of a place right on the beach with the comfiest bed ever, shared bathroom but always clean and vacant, own secure parking space, tv, towels and toiletries (always a nice luxury in backpackers), and staff always seemed helpful and friendly enough. We stayed in the double room next to Heidi's cafe which is attached - amazing breakfast and soooo cheap! Defo recommend this place to any travellers or even couples going on holiday. Room was 400r a night for both of us which is slightly more than normal for backpackers, but it was worth it. Thanks guys xxxx

Room Tip: The double next to Heidi's cafe was so comply and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

wonderful spot to relax right next to the beach. close to great surfing and not far from other spots in town. Rudy & Tash are model entrepreneurs and this is an excellent family-run business. The accommodations vary but the property is kept clean and orderly, and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The bar is right on premises, there is a pool and breakfast cafe as well. Highly recommend to all for a great value, location and experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
4.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
5.8 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
5.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Road Lodge Umhlanga
Road Lodge Umhlanga
#16 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
73 reviews
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
4.8 mi away
Gooderson Beach Hotel
Gooderson Beach Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansteys Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansteys Beach Backpackers

Property: Ansteys Beach Backpackers
Address: 477 Marine Drive, Bluff | Entrance from the beach on Foreshore Drive, Durban 4052, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anstey Beach Self Catering Apartments and Backpackers, owned and run by Rudy and Tash Palmboom and managed by Michelle, is situated on the beautiful unspoilt beaches of the Bluff. Come and enjoy some friendly, laid back coastal hospitality while you soak up the sights and sun. Fall under the Ansteys spell and embrace the warm, happy family atmosphere - whether you spend your day at the beach, or relax by the poolside in our tropical garden - you are sure to enjoy yourself! We offer different types of accommodation to suit all budgets - from backpacker type dorms, to more upmarket self catering apartments. Ansteys is not your conventional backpacker hostel or holiday apartment resort, but it has it's own kind of magic, which is why so many guests return time and time again. Heidi's Cafe is situated on the premises and is a cosy and popular little cafe/coffee shop which serves good filter coffee, cappuccinos, delicious, hearty or healthy breakfasts, as well as home baked treats. The beaches on the Bluff are beautiful and great to explore, especially at low tide when you can explore all the rock pools along the way. Ansteys has consistent good surf and is a quick stroll away from the world famous surf break Cave Rock. It is also one of the most popular kitesurfing beaches. For those wanting to learn how to surf, book our very popular "get-up-and-go" surf lessons. The Bluff boasts beautiful protected and unspoilt beaches (lovely warm seawater!) with excellent lifeguards and shopping centres all within walking distance. We are a quick 15 kilometre drive from Durban City Centre, the ICC, the sport stadiums and Ushaka Marine World. We offer many facilities - among them a swimming pool area set in a tropical garden, pool table, internet and wi-fi and a small beach and surf shop. We pride ourselves on ensuring there is a real happy and relaxed village atmosphere here, so come on over & share in our unique lifestyle...we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing