We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some work”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Nomads Backpackers

Nomads Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nomads Backpackers
Ranked #20 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The atmosphere was nice, but the place needs a coat of paint, the carpets needs to be cleaned & we had two little thin mattresses stacked on top of each other on our bed to sleep on-kept rolling in...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
18
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Conveniently situated for BazBus pick up and drop off. The nicest people! Everyone is friendly and down to earth and we had some enjoyable conversations. We had a very comfortable bedroom and a wonderful night's sleep. Bathrooms are also clean and in excellent working order. Our's was a quick overnight stay, but we are very happy with Nomads Backpackers!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our family was booked here for 3 nights.... we needed a clean place to sleep while exploring Durbs... we paid upfront... (not doing that again!!!). What a disappointment when we arrived.

The people were friendly enough, but I have never seen a place so dirty, smelly, old and run down in my life. I could not even touch the reception counter, never mind sleeping there. I did not expect fancy, but I did expect clean.
I can not believe that they charge people money to stay there.
We left without a refund of course. The manager/owner did offer to pay back what he could retrieve from re-renting the room, but I will be pleasantly surprised if I hear from them again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for one night.

Pros
- friendly and helpful staff
- coffee and tea are free
- fast service with alcohol :)
- close to a mall
- free wifi but can get only in certain locations

Cons
- dorm rooms are alright. They have triple decker bunk beds. Doesn't have any reading lights so if you need the light on, you must use the main light in the room.
- limited bathrooms available

Room Tip: Book a suite. Avoid the dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I booked this place easily on the net which is how I came across it! I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights! Instead of a dorm I booked an en suite room! Whic was not too badly priced for sharing! They had a nice entertainment social area! It was quite quiet as it was off peak season! The only thing that we did not like was that we had a car and the gate was manual! The keys were kept inside so you had to get out your car go inside get keys then open the gate drive in the put the keys back! I think they should think of an Alternate safer option! Tea and coffee was on tap! Breakfast and dinner etc is avaible at a cost which we didn't have as we were our most of the time! This place is at the beginning of essenwood road just off the highway/main road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ninakins9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked rooms in Nomads in December to arrive there in February. 3 days before we got there, we called them to check all was ok, only to be told there was no record of our booking, and unless we paid up front, they wouldn't take us in. This was a school trip, and we were in a real spot. Nomnads were totally unapologetic, and adopted a 'deal with it' sort of attitude. Fortunately, Gibela Backpackers down the road were fantastic, and really helped us out. Avoid Nomads, go with Gibela!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babarpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We found Nomads to be dark, dirty and some of the staff were not friendly or helpful. We had lots of trip planning questions and found it was very difficult to get answers until we spoke with the owner.It was also odd that the electricity would get turned off in the room at night making it difficult to get ready in the mornings.On the up side the hostel is very close to a mall which was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CouandDrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 42 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#8 of 246 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 80 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Backpackers

Property: Nomads Backpackers
Address: 70 Essenwood Road | Kzn, Durban 4400, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes away from pubs, restaurants, movies & shops, Nomads is a friendly, homely spot run by Leigh & her team. After 15 years of being in business, they promise to provide efficient service in a welcoming atmosphere. They will go out of their way to make you feel at home, help you with travel info & answer any other questions you might have. While you chilling around the pool or hanging out at the Bambooza Bar you'll more than likely make a bunch of new friends, experience some memorable moments and have fun. Nomads offer all the facilities you would expect, to suite every travelers needs. The bar, pool table and swimming pool are located in the original house whilst the two adjacent houses offer a quieter atmosphere with large, comfortable doubles and fans in all the rooms. Our Urban Brew restaurant offers meals with African and Indian theme nights to tempt your taste buds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing