We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Africa Regent Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Benjamin(Durban)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
63
14
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
14
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurban northhosts paman excellent place to stayrestaurants and shopssafe locationcooked breakfastshort driveeach morningtea and coffeeroom was spaciouswonderful stayfree wifiguesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a very comfortable and convenient guest house with some very nice extra touches . David and Pam are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. David even brought the wine to our room even though there is a bar! We stayed in the penthouse which was very spacious. The guest house is situated in a very safe area with some very good restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Penthouse is great value
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinnersMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This B&B is a good starting point for a visit to Durban. Durban North is a wealthy village, safe with lots of restaurants and shops at 5 minutes walk. We slept in room #3 (17 m2), the Elephant Room with bathroom with tub and separate shower. Everything well maintained and in good order. The room had a lack of lights. Only a large central light on the ceiling, consisting of 4 low-energy bulbs and only one single bed lamp. Some more small lights could create a more friendly light in the room. The house is African style decorated. the game room and bar are equipped with a small pool table and a honesty bar, English style. Every Africa art object has its own story and Dave has been a collector of African art for more than 30 years.

The swimming pool looks nice, but we could not use it due to thunderstorms on both nights!

The full cooked English breakfast is very personal on command and carefully prepared.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We really loved and enjoyed staying in this B & B.
The African theme throughout the place makes you really feel like you are in Africa.
They have a lovely pool area where you can relax, a great bar with a honest policy and a pool table which we got alot of enjoyment out of.
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic lovely fresh fruit, a delicious cooked breakfast and service with a smile.
I would highly recommend this B & B and when we are back in Durban next we will come back for the third time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElonaSpijkerbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed here for just one night during my trip of South Africa.
Chose this B&B because it was in a little pamphlet I got, "best BBs in SA", and it was marked as good and reasonably close to the airport.
Room is of adequate size, bathroom could've been a bit more brighter. There was a general bar just outside of my room but there was not too much noise coming from there. Didn't eat breakfast as had an early flight so cannot comment on that.
Ate in nearby restaurants (about 5-10 minutes walk, you don't feel unsafe in that neighborhood), however nothing I really remember (so it wasn't that good).
Overall, a nice place, but I haven't had a chance to get a feeling of it. I probably would agree with one of the previous guests that this B&B is probably best for the older generation. Not that it's a bad thing, it's just not for me, looks like.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed for a week at this B&B and although the owners were away. The person (Errol) looking after the place was really helpful and pleasant. We left as friends.
It has a stunning African theme and the penthouse room which we stayed in was spacious and had aircon. which was really lovely especially in Feb... when it is hot and humid.
We were greeted every morning by Errols smiling face and great sense of humour and he went out of his way to assist us with our every request.
I will definately reccomend this B&B to anyone travelling to Durban.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harveymax13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews