We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Africa Regent Guest House
Ranked #36 of 246 Durban B&B and Inns
Seattle
2 reviews
“Exceeded all Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I would completely ignore any low reviews of this place. Service, location, cleanliness, value, comfort and decorative charm surpass any hotel you could possibly find (we had many friends staying at other places) and we were super glad we chose to stay at the Regent. The owners are VERY hospitable and friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was very yummy, to where I actually looked forward to it. =) Having own garage opener and going straight to your room (rent a car, it's worth it) is so much more convenient that traveling through a lobby, finding the elevators, and traipsing down long hallways each time you leave your hotel room. There were many thoughtful touches like new magazines, free coffee, tea and water and biscuits every day, a nice pool, pool table, darts, cards and honors bar, etc. I could go on, but this place is just HIGHLY recommended. Great value, too. I disagree this is a place 'for grandma'. We are in our early twenties, but maybe we enjoy comfort, peace, hospitality and class. When we want to party we can go to a nightclub... I find it strange the guests that want noise and ruckus where they stay and complain when a place is too 'quiet'. The other positive reviews clearly outweigh the negative outliers. Book this place now! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Our room was Room 1, bottom floor and right by the bar/pool room, but we did not mind at all. We li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ting848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
41
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brits
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is classed as a guest house, but in my opinion far exceeds many hotels I have stayed in.
It is situated North of Durban, in a sleepy little suburb, the rooms are exceedingly well finished and spacious, spotlessly clean, the owners are incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast excellent, cooked by themselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Lovely spacious rooms with everything thought of. Great facilities and wonderful friendly hosts. We loved the Africa theme throughout too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Booked here because it was close to friends in the area, ended up being quite a find. Don't worry about needing lunch because breakfast was 4 courses...David and Pam were fantastic hosts and went out of their way to help with plans for the rest of our trip. Good neighborhood, room with balcony, very reasonable (~700 rand). Would love to be back...sigh.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great place and great location. This place is just wonderful. It was clean, quiet and the owners and staff are super warm, helpful and very friendly. We truly enjoyed our stay. We also enjoyed the full English breakfast each morning for the two week period that we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a very comfortable and convenient guest house with some very nice extra touches . David and Pam are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. David even brought the wine to our room even though there is a bar! We stayed in the penthouse which was very spacious. The guest house is situated in a very safe area with some very good restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Penthouse is great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnersMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

This B&B is a good starting point for a visit to Durban. Durban North is a wealthy village, safe with lots of restaurants and shops at 5 minutes walk. We slept in room #3 (17 m2), the Elephant Room with bathroom with tub and separate shower. Everything well maintained and in good order. The room had a lack of lights. Only a large central light on the ceiling, consisting of 4 low-energy bulbs and only one single bed lamp. Some more small lights could create a more friendly light in the room. The house is African style decorated. the game room and bar are equipped with a small pool table and a honesty bar, English style. Every Africa art object has its own story and Dave has been a collector of African art for more than 30 years.

The swimming pool looks nice, but we could not use it due to thunderstorms on both nights!

The full cooked English breakfast is very personal on command and carefully prepared.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.4 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#11 of 246 in Durban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#71 of 246 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.4 mi away
Roseland House
Roseland House
#12 of 246 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#34 of 246 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Regent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Regent Guest House

Property: Africa Regent Guest House
Address: 24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Regent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa Regent is a distinctly different family run 4 STAR luxury establishment, offering personalised service, impeccable attention to detail, great value for money and a distinctive quality experience. Accommodation & Facilities:Exclusively for our guests is a spacious lounge, breakfast room, patio, and bar complete with TV,pool table and darts The bar opens onto a natural rock swimming pool with cascading waterfall.Adjacent to the pool is the entertainment area for buffets or braai(barbeque).The traditional African décor abounds throughout with each of the six double bedrooms having a en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and being appointed with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, safe, hair dryer, bath robes, toiletries and hostess tray. Our penthouse, set in a nautical theme,has views of the bay and ocean. Other facilities include free coffee/tea/juice & biscuit station, free secure off road parking, airport transfers,golf club loan, laundry service and free wireless internet connection. Prices include full English breakfast. Major credit cards accepted. Regret no children. Location: Located in the quiet suburb of Durban North by the warm Indian Ocean and conveniently situated between Durban's Golden Mile and Umhlanga Village Resort. An ideal location offering complete relaxation and privacy whilst being just minutes away from the beach, shopping malls, ICC, cinemas,theatres, casino, golf, sports stadiums, sports facilities and tourist attractions. Within walking distance are banks, post office, good restaurants and pharmacy. Fifteen minutes (23 km) from the international airport. Tours & Safaris: We can provide information on tours to suit the individual needs of our guests on request with our tour partners.Day trips or extend your stay to explore more of the culture, heritage and wildlife of KwaZulu Natal. Attractions Nearby: Gateway Shopping & EntertainmentValley of 1000 Hills Suncoast Casino Zulu Cultural Centre uShaka Marine World4 Golf CoursesSharks BoardUmgeni Bird ParkInternational Convention Centre ABSA Rugby Stadium - SharksSibaya Casino & Theatre Pavillion Shopping CentreKingsmaed Cricket GroundDurbanInternational Swimming ArenaDurban' Golden Mile - BeachesUmhlanga Beach World Cup Soccer Stadium Regional Attractions: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve LionPark Drakensberg National Park Crocodile Safari Park Oribi Gorge SnakePark St Lucia Wetlands Park Cheetah Sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Africa Regent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing