We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Africa Regent Guest House
Ranked #35 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We chose the Africa Regent on the basis of the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. This is a very friendly, clean and comfortable guest housel in a convenient location in north Durban. David, the host was most hospitable and met us on arrival to pass on useful local information, including the location of some excellent restaurants which were within safe walking distance. The bedrooms were extremely nicely decorated and very comfortable, with all important air conditioning. We took advantage of the well stocked bar before and after our meal, most enjoyable. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. Overall, a brilliant guest house which we would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred201021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have visited Africa Regent Guest House twice now and have loved both of our stays. The welcome has been great and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the whole House is great! We loved the area around the pool and how peaceful it was there despite being in Durban! We will definitely go again and really recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

After a long day of shark diving in Gansbaai and flight interruptions from Capetown, a call to the guest house quickly made all apprehensions disappear. They quickly arranged for the taxi service to meet me for the new arrival time and the transfer was seamless. My plan was to stay one night and leave the following afternoon. Transportation to my next destination left Durban while I was sleeping - but no worries. David contacted the car service, the next hotel and arranged for me to stay an extra night in Durban, arrive a day late in St. Lucia and so forth. All without breaking a sweat! One can stay in a a 5 staraccomodation, but it has been my experience that one can only find 10 star people in places such as the Africa Regent Guest House. The accomodation, food and ambiance were better than advertised. I cannot imagine anyone having a negative say about this fine establishment.

Room Tip: all seemed equally wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I would completely ignore any low reviews of this place. Service, location, cleanliness, value, comfort and decorative charm surpass any hotel you could possibly find (we had many friends staying at other places) and we were super glad we chose to stay at the Regent. The owners are VERY hospitable and friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was very yummy, to where I actually looked forward to it. =) Having own garage opener and going straight to your room (rent a car, it's worth it) is so much more convenient that traveling through a lobby, finding the elevators, and traipsing down long hallways each time you leave your hotel room. There were many thoughtful touches like new magazines, free coffee, tea and water and biscuits every day, a nice pool, pool table, darts, cards and honors bar, etc. I could go on, but this place is just HIGHLY recommended. Great value, too. I disagree this is a place 'for grandma'. We are in our early twenties, but maybe we enjoy comfort, peace, hospitality and class. When we want to party we can go to a nightclub... I find it strange the guests that want noise and ruckus where they stay and complain when a place is too 'quiet'. The other positive reviews clearly outweigh the negative outliers. Book this place now! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Our room was Room 1, bottom floor and right by the bar/pool room, but we did not mind at all. We li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ting848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is classed as a guest house, but in my opinion far exceeds many hotels I have stayed in.
It is situated North of Durban, in a sleepy little suburb, the rooms are exceedingly well finished and spacious, spotlessly clean, the owners are incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast excellent, cooked by themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Lovely spacious rooms with everything thought of. Great facilities and wonderful friendly hosts. We loved the Africa theme throughout too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Booked here because it was close to friends in the area, ended up being quite a find. Don't worry about needing lunch because breakfast was 4 courses...David and Pam were fantastic hosts and went out of their way to help with plans for the rest of our trip. Good neighborhood, room with balcony, very reasonable (~700 rand). Would love to be back...sigh.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.9 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#70 of 256 in Durban
34 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#41 of 256 in Durban
45 reviews
4.2 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
4.1 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 256 in Durban
16 reviews
6.0 mi away
An Upper Room
An Upper Room
#5 of 256 in Durban
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Regent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Regent Guest House

Address: 24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £49 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Regent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa Regent is a distinctly different family run 4 STAR luxury establishment, offering personalised service, impeccable attention to detail, great value for money and a distinctive quality experience. Accommodation & Facilities:Exclusively for our guests is a spacious lounge, breakfast room, patio, and bar complete with TV,pool table and darts The bar opens onto a natural rock swimming pool with cascading waterfall.Adjacent to the pool is the entertainment area for buffets or braai(barbeque).The traditional African décor abounds throughout with each of the six double bedrooms having a en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and being appointed with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, safe, hair dryer, bath robes, toiletries and hostess tray. Our penthouse, set in a nautical theme,has views of the bay and ocean. Other facilities include free coffee/tea/juice & biscuit station, free secure off road parking, airport transfers,golf club loan, laundry service and free wireless internet connection. Prices include full English breakfast. Major credit cards accepted. Regret no children. Location: Located in the quiet suburb of Durban North by the warm Indian Ocean and conveniently situated between Durban's Golden Mile and Umhlanga Village Resort. An ideal location offering complete relaxation and privacy whilst being just minutes away from the beach, shopping malls, ICC, cinemas,theatres, casino, golf, sports stadiums, sports facilities and tourist attractions. Within walking distance are banks, post office, good restaurants and pharmacy. Fifteen minutes (23 km) from the international airport. Tours & Safaris: We can provide information on tours to suit the individual needs of our guests on request with our tour partners.Day trips or extend your stay to explore more of the culture, heritage and wildlife of KwaZulu Natal. Attractions Nearby: Gateway Shopping & EntertainmentValley of 1000 Hills Suncoast Casino Zulu Cultural Centre uShaka Marine World4 Golf CoursesSharks BoardUmgeni Bird ParkInternational Convention Centre ABSA Rugby Stadium - SharksSibaya Casino & Theatre Pavillion Shopping CentreKingsmaed Cricket GroundDurbanInternational Swimming ArenaDurban' Golden Mile - BeachesUmhlanga Beach World Cup Soccer Stadium Regional Attractions: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve LionPark Drakensberg National Park Crocodile Safari Park Oribi Gorge SnakePark St Lucia Wetlands Park Cheetah Sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Africa Regent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing