We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Africa Regent Guest House
Ranked #39 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We spent 5 nights at Africa Regent and had a truly wonderful time. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the house and rooms are decorated with a lot of thought using many interesting Zulu and African wildlife themed artworks. David and Pam are extremely attentive hosts and provided us with numerous tips and suggestions to enhance our time in Durban. Breakfasts were great with a good choice including a full cooked breakfast.
Excellent - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Africa Regent Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

This guest house is styled in sort of quaint colonial style - lots of stuffed heads and Africana together with a bar complete with pool table and darts board,
Dave and Pam are absolutely brilliant hosts - they travel a lot themselves and simply know how to make you feel welcome.
We had the benefit of an upgrade to their Penthouse suite - this was really nice - we only had one night as we were travelling on from Durban but would definitely recommend this guest house if you are looking for a nice place to be in Durban. It is in a quiet residential area on the north side of the city - you need a car if you are getting about but it within sight of the sea and of the brand spanking new Durban stadium built for the World cup
Breakfast was really excellent and served in first class fashion by Dave and Pam.
They run a trust bar.
Small pool - you might use if you were stopping longer than us.
If we go back to durban we would definitely try this place again
Lots of nice touches around the place - really very delightful to stop here
secure parking inside the property.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoncasterCoolcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Charming little b&b in Durban North - yeah, it's a little bit out of Durban but was perfect for us for a couple of nights.

Dave & Pam were charming hosts and gave us lots of helpful advice on where to go and what to do while in Durban.

The House itself was wonderfully designed with lots of traditional african furniture and stuff on display throughout. Great pool area and amazing bar area with pool table.

Rooms were big and upto scratch with our standards.

Would definitely go back - just for the nice breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_p_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Africa Regent. David is a wonderful host! A full continental breakfast is included in the tariff, which was lovely. The pool area is peaceful, with a resident parrot who loves to chat to visitors. There is an honesty bar & pool table downstairs next to the pool area. Dining out is a bit of a problem in Durban North if you wish to eat something other than Thai/Italian/Japanese/fast food.... We had some awful food during our stay. We would recommend that visitors catch a taxi to Morningside for dinner, or to the Durban beachfront... or to Umhlanga Rocks. There is seriously nothing to write home about in terms of dining out in Durban North... but there are some small eateries/fast food outlets & a supermarket within a 5 minute walk of the accomodation if you are desperate. A bonus of staying in Durban North is that walking around in the evening is safe. The only downside of our stay was the lacklustre dining out options in Durban North :( Otherwise, we loved our stay at Africa Regent & would stay again !!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bambini1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Von der Suite hat man Blick auf den Indischen Ozean
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rolf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ViaggiSenzaMeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.2 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#77 of 255 in Durban
33 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#38 of 255 in Durban
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#10 of 255 in Durban
132 reviews
15.8 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#7 of 255 in Durban
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Regent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Regent Guest House

Address: 24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Regent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa Regent is a distinctly different family run 4 STAR luxury establishment, offering personalised service, impeccable attention to detail, great value for money and a distinctive quality experience. Accommodation & Facilities:Exclusively for our guests is a spacious lounge, breakfast room, patio, and bar complete with TV,pool table and darts The bar opens onto a natural rock swimming pool with cascading waterfall.Adjacent to the pool is the entertainment area for buffets or braai(barbeque).The traditional African décor abounds throughout with each of the six double bedrooms having a en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and being appointed with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, safe, hair dryer, bath robes, toiletries and hostess tray. Our penthouse, set in a nautical theme,has views of the bay and ocean. Other facilities include free coffee/tea/juice & biscuit station, free secure off road parking, airport transfers,golf club loan, laundry service and free wireless internet connection. Prices include full English breakfast. Major credit cards accepted. Regret no children. Location: Located in the quiet suburb of Durban North by the warm Indian Ocean and conveniently situated between Durban's Golden Mile and Umhlanga Village Resort. An ideal location offering complete relaxation and privacy whilst being just minutes away from the beach, shopping malls, ICC, cinemas,theatres, casino, golf, sports stadiums, sports facilities and tourist attractions. Within walking distance are banks, post office, good restaurants and pharmacy. Fifteen minutes (23 km) from the international airport. Tours & Safaris: We can provide information on tours to suit the individual needs of our guests on request with our tour partners.Day trips or extend your stay to explore more of the culture, heritage and wildlife of KwaZulu Natal. Attractions Nearby: Gateway Shopping & EntertainmentValley of 1000 Hills Suncoast Casino Zulu Cultural Centre uShaka Marine World4 Golf CoursesSharks BoardUmgeni Bird ParkInternational Convention Centre ABSA Rugby Stadium - SharksSibaya Casino & Theatre Pavillion Shopping CentreKingsmaed Cricket GroundDurbanInternational Swimming ArenaDurban' Golden Mile - BeachesUmhlanga Beach World Cup Soccer Stadium Regional Attractions: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve LionPark Drakensberg National Park Crocodile Safari Park Oribi Gorge SnakePark St Lucia Wetlands Park Cheetah Sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Africa Regent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing