We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best stay in Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowrie Cove Guest House
Ranked #11 of 246 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My best stay in Durban”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I found Cowrie Cove in desperation after finding myself at an overrated and highly unpleasant B&B in Westville. Moving from that to Cowrie was the best thing ever. From the time we arrived and met the owners to the bottle of wine we had under the Lapa to the unbelievably spacious bedroom and bathroom, beautifully furnished, to the breakfast spread that would do even the most stubborn-headed buffet lover proud - it was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Rabinowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I have stayed at cowrie house at least 5 times in the last two years. I keep going back cause i love it. friendly helpfull staff, beautiful rooms, best bathrooms ever, on the beach, best breakfast ever, great pool area, always emaculate

Room Tip: all rooms are good depends what you are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larryKrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Lovely accommodation a stone-throw away from the beach. Great hospitality!! Felt like home away from home

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I have stayed here several times and always feel welcome and relaxed, which is great when you are far from home and family. The decor and hospitality are second to none and the owners Caroline and Koebus are charming and interesting people, always happy to sit for a chat and a beer, go for a walk on the beach or give advice on local Umhlanga restaurants and so on.

If I had one negative it would be that the rooms, comfortable and nicely decorated though they are, don't quite work. Nothing seems to be where you expect to find it if you are accustomed to the convenience of hotel rooms; the desk and chair in my room were the wrong height and ill-suited to working on a laptop, the seat had collapsed so to avoid a numb bum I ended up perched on one of the many cushions that inhabit the bed. The bathrooms are cluttered and you fear you might knock something valuable flying with a towel. The mirror in my bathroom was small, in a tasteful frame and badly lit but for shaving I think most men would prefer a big, heated (non-misting) mirror with bright lighting and the shaver socket conveniently close.

The guest house is near a small airfield so yes, there are light aircraft buzzing overhead especially early in the day but they don't fly at night. Keep an eye out for cheeky monkeys dashing down and pinching your breakfast but otherwise you are guaranteed a peaceful, comfortable experience in this beautiful house.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkGlobalrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have stayed at Cowrie Cove five times now, when on business in the Durban area (although also lovely for holiday as it is just off the beach..). Rooms 1, 3 and 5 are palatial and the attention to service, decor and food is outstanding. Caroline and her staff are amongst the friendliest and helpful hosts we've encountered. Will be back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

This guest house has had a very successful contemporary make-over & is a delightful place to stay. We were there for 3 nights. A graet location adjacent to the beach, really stylish & comfortable bedroom (although we would have paid the modest amount extra for the extra space in the superior/de luxe had a tour operator given us the choice), wonderful fresh-made coffee available all day from a clever machine - nice size swimming pool, beautiful gardens - I could go on. To show that this is absolutely genuine review I will mention two slight issues - when the wind is in certain directions one gets some noise from light aircraft & helicopters at times and despite all the style - hooks to hang things on had been forgotten in our bathroom. However I am sure Caroline the busy, efficient & helpful proprietress or her excellent manager, Ben will soon correct this. Thoroghly recommended - we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed for four nights in mid November, and we cannot fault anything about this fantastic guest house. We took over the majority of the nine rooms as we were attending a family wedding.

Cowrie Cove is located in a leafy suburb of north Durban close to Umhlanga Rocks, and through a short path you are a fantastic beach. The grounds are beautiful, a lovely pool is surronded by a terrace with sun loungers and two semi-private areas. An semi-enclosed "beach house" with a braai ( BBQ), and an upper area overlooking the pool.

The welcome from owner Caroline was warm and sincere, and nothing was too much trouble......she even let us use her own laptop. The inside public area was decoratede with African and Asian art. There was a large honesty bar with a wide selection of sensibly priced beers, wines and soft drinks. Also, a help yourself coffee machine, biscuits and a huge fruit bowl.

Breakfast was served inside or on the terrace and consisted of a huge selection of cold items, along with a full selection of freshly prepared ( from the open plan kitchen) of hot items.

We had suite 9 which opened onto a small patio area.......the room was huge and absolutely beautiful. Large spa bath and separate shower.

Caroline does have a family of lovely dogs ( I counted 7 pugs at one point and a moggy), but they didn'y bother us at all.

Are there cheaper places to stay....................probably
Are there more expensive places to stay......definetly
Are there better places to stay.........................I doubt it !!!!!!!!!

Certainly one of the best places I have stayed in for a long time...............

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
0.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
0.0 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowrie Cove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowrie Cove Guest House

Property: Cowrie Cove Guest House
Address: 4 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cowrie Cove Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Cowrie Cove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing