We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowrie Cove Guest House
Ranked #7 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible surprise”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just went back home in Paris leaving a piece of my heart to Garth and his wife .
Absolutely better to any hotel i could imagine .
Warm welcome, Location simply amazing and....what tell again.."simply the best place to stay"
Thanks a lot again Garth for the nice stay and...see you soon next time ( for sure)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSanta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
35
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our original guest house was fully booked so our company appointed travel agency booked us into Cowrie Cove Guest House in La Lucia and what a good decision. Kim and Garth made us feel at home, my suite was beautifully decorated and oh my word the bathroom is "to die for" it is twice the size of my bathroom at home. I enjoyed getting back from a long day to just lie in the bath and soak. The breakfasts prepared by all the ladies was absolutely out of this world, they put on a fantastic spread and thanks for accommodating my omelette fettish.
Will definitely be back to stay with Garth and Kim at their amazing Guest House.

Room Tip: Suite 3 has an enormous bathroom and shower with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our large group stayed at Cowrie Cove guest house for 6 nights. From the moment we arrived, until the moment we departed, owners Kim and Garth along with manager Jackie provided each and every one of us with a perfect ending to 3 long weeks of safari travels.
They went above and beyond, recommending local activities, calling taxis, arranging for laundry services, booking tee times for golf and more. There was no request they failed to attend to. And they did it all with a smile. By the time we left, we all felt we had made new friends.
The breakfast is amazing, with choice of a wide variety of items on a buffet table and/or a hot breakfast cooked to order. The food was delicious. We also enjoyed the little sweet treats left out for late night snackers.
The house and property is beautiful, the surroundings idyllic. The rooms are all different, each one spacious, comfortable, decorated beautifully and impeccably clean. Their staff are professional, helpful and friendly.
We loved our stay at Cowrie Cove, and I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation. I hope to be lucky enough to return!
Go - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This B&B is a must to experience. We booked all 9 rooms. Kim and Garth makes you feel special, accommodate all requests and more. The rooms are all beautifully decorated with each an individual touch and comfort. A lot of effort goes into providing a fully prepared and delicious breakfast. I would recommend this to all my friends and everyone that wants to feel at home.

Room Tip: All the rooms has a different feel and touch. I would recommend any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels, motels and B and B's. Cowrie Cove was, if not the best accomodation experience, certainly in the top three. If you talk about value for money, it was by far the best . From the time of arrival to departure we felt like we were extended members of the owner's, Garth and Kim's, family. Our room was amazing, the service impeccable and the breakfast over the top in breadth of choice. On top of this add in a great pool, open area and a great beach and you are close to heaven. The final touch is the local massage therapist,Lauren. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Suite or Room 9 which has a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

One of the best places I have ever stayed. We had a large group from Canada and arrived after 3 weeks of safaris and traveling. Kim and Garth went above and beyond to ensure we were all comfortable. The staff are all amazing and very friendly. Breakfasts were delicious and the rooms are all beautifully decorated in different ways. Very close to the beach as well. Would definitely come back and highly recommend this place to anyone (travellers, business folk etc.). Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: Algal rooms are different sizes but beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved the place! It was a perfect way to end our honeymoon, hosts were very friendly and inviting. Definitely want to visit here again! Garth and Kim were fantastic, we felt right at home. Thanks so much for everything

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#12 of 43 in Durban
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowrie Cove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowrie Cove Guest House

Property: Cowrie Cove Guest House
Address: 4 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cowrie Cove Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Cowrie Cove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing