We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee and Quirk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corner Cafe

Corner Cafe
Ranked #218 of 591 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Durban
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coffee and Quirk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Love it, love the atmosphere, the eco-friendly vibe - from the brilliant grafitti that adorn the walls, to the personal attention from Judd the owner, to the quirkiness of the menu. It's the trendiest corner with the best coffee anywhere in Durban - nay, in SA!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ziggidurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
“Love Coffee, love Character, Love Corner Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

This corner restaurant is basically our second kitchen, we live a few houses away and hardly a day goes by when we can resist dropping in for a cup of Judd (the house coffee which is named after the owner, head waiter and underlying spirit of corner cafe, Judd Campbell.) Not to mention a piping hot breadstick stuffed with peppadews, feta and olives. Our 9 month old son has been happily distracted by these handy cullinary teething tools since he was 4 months old. I doubt you will find a more regular friendly coffee shop in Durban than this Corner Cafe. It epitomises the best of the Glenwood - is (truly) eco-friendly, totally relaxed, intimate, bustling, family and even dog friendly and that's before you've tasted the delicious locally sourced, organic where possible, food and beverages. Local is lekker and lekker is Corner Cafe. Do it. We do. Daily.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky decor, great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This has got distinct character (it also displays artwork), with yummy food - lots of healthy options too - and great vibe. Visitors have to catch some Durban spirit and check this place out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing. A little slice of perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Favorite spot for breakfast, lunch or just to chill. The place IS Durban, with all it's quirks , creativity and awesomeness. Organic, local and wholesome describe the food with a major dash of rad. Have a coffee, chat to the staff, be a local

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I really loved this place. The best atmosphere, very good food, great coffee and excellent service. Love the deco! Perfect to meet friends for a coffee or to go with your laptop and work a bit while you have breakfast. I'll definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Cafe also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing