We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relaxing lunch”
Review of Corner Cafe

Corner Cafe
Ranked #267 of 604 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good relaxing lunch”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a great afternoon lunch. The pizzas were delicious. Interesting topping combinations in this quirky restaurant. The coffee is decent and the staff are friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Billferdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint, Vibey and the food is superb”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a lovely little restaurant to have either a ciabatta or pizza lunch or home made dinners.
Judd, the owner is personalble and cares for each and every customer which walks into his doors. The drinks are really well priced, making the evening a great spend :)

We went to their stand up comedy show last Saturday, the 23rd Feb and it was fun. They have regular comedy shows and we WILL be returning this coming Friday the 1st March for a "Who's Line Is It Anyway" comedy show. We can't wait!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LM_Louw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect little cafe!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Really great little spot that do the basics so well.. Everything is so fresh and the portions are perfect. Will definitely be back..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coffee and Quirk”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Love it, love the atmosphere, the eco-friendly vibe - from the brilliant grafitti that adorn the walls, to the personal attention from Judd the owner, to the quirkiness of the menu. It's the trendiest corner with the best coffee anywhere in Durban - nay, in SA!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ziggidurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
“Love Coffee, love Character, Love Corner Cafe”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This corner restaurant is basically our second kitchen, we live a few houses away and hardly a day goes by when we can resist dropping in for a cup of Judd (the house coffee which is named after the owner, head waiter and underlying spirit of corner cafe, Judd Campbell.) Not to mention a piping hot breadstick stuffed with peppadews, feta and olives. Our 9 month old son has been happily distracted by these handy cullinary teething tools since he was 4 months old. I doubt you will find a more regular friendly coffee shop in Durban than this Corner Cafe. It epitomises the best of the Glenwood - is (truly) eco-friendly, totally relaxed, intimate, bustling, family and even dog friendly and that's before you've tasted the delicious locally sourced, organic where possible, food and beverages. Local is lekker and lekker is Corner Cafe. Do it. We do. Daily.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Cafe also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing