We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing can beat Durban's Golden Mile”
Review of Golden Mile

Golden Mile
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.65*
and up
Durban City Half Day Private Tour
More Info
US$47.26*
and up
Durban City Half-Day Tour
More Info
US$39.38*
and up
Durban City Tour
Ranked #5 of 122 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nothing can beat Durban's Golden Mile”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Durban has the best stretch of Golden Mile to offer both the locals n tourists. The promenade is ideal for walks, running, cycling or just chilling with the family...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mmdarsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    222
    66
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited in May mid week. I was surprised there weren't many people anywhere. We enjoyed the beautiful promenade. Everything is so clean and tidy. Did some shopping with street vendors. We felt very safe. Had drinks and lunch then returned for dinner. This is a very special place. We enjoyed it very much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovtotravel334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent stretch of seafront from the stadium in the north to the port in the south. Improved for the 2010 World Cup and very nice place to stroll, rollerblade, jog, cycle etc. Very nice brickwork walkway passing the casino complex and also other restaurants and kids attractions further along the beach. Access to the beach at multiple points - beach was spotlessly clean and beautiful yellow sand.
Apparently this is a dangerous place at night but we walked along it twice and very carefully without any problems.
Definately worth a visit as it is in my opinion the equal of any other similar beach facing walkway that I have ever seen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Cool”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A great place for a morning stroll. Beautiful in may and not too humid. What a great day just before g the comrades marathon.

Helpful?
Thank Yaasien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beach- and sunlovers delight”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Wide open spaces for walking,jogging,running,cycling,sunning.
Except for public holidays and weekends in peak season,then it DOES get crowded.
Not many bars/pubs for pub crawling anymore.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WillyJozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Been to Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing