We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oceanic(Durban)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Durban(Durban)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
133
75
22
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
75
22
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreedom cafeflorida roadrain showerlarge showercomfortable bedsbar fridgebreakfast was delicioushome away from homebeach frontverandaminibarretreatsecuritymaintenanceproximitybedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Unique and Fun. I loved the decor. The beds are huge and comfy and the bathroom quirky but designer in style.The shower is fantastic. The Eggs Benedict at the Freedom Cafe are heavenly. Its a lovely spot to stay for business or a city break. Close to Florida Road which has some of the best restaurants in Durban. The area around it isn't great but the property is well fenced and with an all night security guard we felt quite safe. Best to have a car as its probably not an area you want to walk around in. I would stay there again any day.

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms have a big bath while the road facing rooms have a small verandah
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Beatifully designed and decorated rooms, worthy of a 5-star hotel. Free wifi, several restaurants in walking distance, quiet neighbourhood. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

It's in an old and still mainly run-down part of Durban which is slowly being restored and rejuvenated, But the Concierge is conveniently close to Florida Road with its many eateries, shops etc, and Greyville Race Course - good for jogging/walking. The Concierce is a small, reasonably-priced, hip establishment. Arguably its best feature is Freedom Cafe (open 24 hours), ingeniously built into a container, which serves superb (Neil Roake-inspired) breakfasts, light meals and snacks. The guest rooms are very compact, but cleverly and attractively appointed and decorated, so you don't feel cramped. My grudges are (a) the open shower (there's no bath) (b) the absence of a vanity slab or any usable shelf in the bathroom (c) the absence of an electrical socket anywhere near the coffee-kettle-and-tea rack (d) the lack of privacy in the street-facing rooms, even though a veranda separates the rooms proper from passers-by using the adjacent pavement. The staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Don't choose a street-facing room if you plan to spend a great deal of time in your room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IkariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My room at the Concierge featured: stylish decoration, fantastic shower (think of a warm jungle rain), comfy bed, nice verandah, free wireless. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Best of all: you get your breakfast at one of Durban's best kept little secrets (or maybe no longer!?). Your day simply can't go wrong, when you start it with those creamy scrambled egss together with some slices of their sourdough bread and a strong cappuccino! Also, try having lunch there as well: the Gnocchi with Lamb tagine were delicious and the "big boy burger" was simply one of the best burgers I've ever tasted! When I come back to Durbs, I know where to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

If I was one of those radically rich people who lived in hotels permanently, i'd choose The Concierge as my home. Besides from the fact that this little spot is in the absolute heart of Durban and a stone's throw away form trendy Florida Road and all its lovely restaurants and shops, it must surely boast some of South Africa's best-looking rooms, friendliest staff and coolest in-house restaurant. Think retro bungalows with private verandahs covered in tropical foliage and designer furniture, front of house staff who know you're name on arrival and how you'd like your eggs for breakfast... oh and the best chocolate brownies I've had in years.

I've stayed at The Concierge for business three times in the last few months and sitting here on my gigantic (and ultra-comfy) bungalow bed, had to just write and recommend this possie while I'm still enjoying it. Their bigger rooms include a bath (the kind you can comfortably lie in and read) and a shower - whilst the smaller rooms sport only a large shower - but also offer those lovely verandahs I mentioned earlier. There's actually something about the smaller 'balcony/no bath' rooms (with their terracotta-coloured walls) that I like especially. They're cosy and remind me of a seriously cool 1970s-style home. Oh and the dachshund detailing (you'll have to stay over to see what I'm on about) is an absolute winner.

I'm also a sucker for Freedom Cafe - which is the glass box and container of restaurant that guests have breakfast at daily. I've had the Eggs Benedict and pronounce it excellent and can also certainly recommend the corn fritters with roasted tomatoes and bacon - though it must be said that the creamy scrambled eggs are hard to beat. Food is owner Neil Roake's thing (you can even buy his recipe books from the hotel) - so you know you're in for the good stuff at this hotel.

I won't gush any further. I've stayed in my fair share of good hotels in South Africa and this is certainly up there with the best of them. Stay here for business, pleasure, with family or alone and I reckon you'd want to move in permanently too.

Room Tip: pick one of the rooms that face onto the road (like 2.3) - they're smaller but have their own balconies.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJBJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews