We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and lots of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several nights and we loved it. The rooms were impressive. Clean, spacious and cooly decorated. Service and staff we exceptionally helpful. Breakfast and coffee were as good as it gets. The entire experience was perfect and on top of that it was a great value as well. Really, this is the place to stay in Durban.

One thing to be aware of in advance though is that the neighborhood can be a little dodgey at night. Once your on the hotel grounds you won't notice it at all and it really doesn't impact your stay at all, but my wife and I were a little unsure of what we had gotten ourselves into as we drove up to the hotel near dusk. Don't worry though...it is definitely worth it. Just like any other neighborhood in most of South Africa, probably not smart to walk around it at night. Take a cab or rent a car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stl_buzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Overall, I thought the Concierge was a great value, I paid about $100 USD a night. The Concierge is right off of Florida Rd and about a 30 minute walk to the waterfront. The Concierge was built in 2010, from what the staff told me.

Pros:
-Very good value
-The rooms are clean and well maintained. They look like trailer parks or storage containers from the outside, but inside they are very nicely decorated.
-Staff offered to drop me at airport at discounted fare, which I thought was very courteous

Cons:
-I did not like the shower. There was no shower curtain and the bathroom would become quite wet after a shower
-The breakfast selection is kind of small, but still quite tasty

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funinthesun2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a unique little gem in a funky neighborhood with a great location!
The room decor is stylish and lovely. The food at Freedom cafe is super tasty and creative!! The staff is friendly and attentive!
We weren't that impressed with Durban but very much enjoyed our 3 nights at the Concierge!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adiloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

While we weren't overly impressed by Durban the highlight of this part of the trip was the hotel. We stayed in rooms 3.1 and our travel partners in room 4.1. These rooms are very large and light. A few basic things were missing e.g shower gel, tumblers for drinking, and there were a few maintenance issues. Our ceiling fan did not work and no one came to address it even after calling twice. Overall the staff were very good. Breakfast was a highlight with the ability to choose from the restaurant menu. We did have the misfortune of being in the restaurant while the hotel manager was speaking to the staff about changes in the breakfast menu. While her changes made commercial sense and no one can't fault her, the tone she used with her staff was patronizing and unacceptable. This should also not have been done within earshot of guests. The food quality and portions were great. A couple of small issues, the rooms with a view to the car park can get a bit noisy very early on weekday mornings given the offices located in the same area. Also the floors in the breakfast area were not kept clean. Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request the king suites 3.1 or 4.1 were good. Away from the car park if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We loved the apartment, modern, stylishly designed, with all the amentities needed. The patio blew us away with its palm trees, other beautiful plants and a comfortable sofa bed. If was a true pleasure to chill out there in the evening. Breakfasts are de-li-cious, whether it's eggs or ricotta pancakes! Great thanks to wonderful staff for your advice and help. 'Concierge' was a perfect introduction to South Africa :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We loved the Concierge! Fantastic small, friendly boutique hotel with large and luxurious rooms and great cafe. Primrose and Sanele were the most lovely and welcoming staff - we felt like friends after only a few days and were genuinely sad to leave them. Rooms are beautifully designed and fitted out - large and luxurious with lovely comfy beds and lots of nice touches. Breakfast is included - your choice from the great menu at the onsite Freedom Cafe. Beats a hotel buffet any day! And proper coffee :-) The cafe is fantastic - a beautifully designed glass and steel cube opening onto a lovely shady courtyard where we sat for hours under the trees and cute bunting. And the food is great. We went to a few other cafes on nearby (walkable) Florida Road, but kept coming back to Freedom as our favourite place to eat. It's just breakfast and lunch, but is also licensed. If they had done dinner there we might never have left! All up this is a luxurious but quirky and individual place to stay. If we came back to Durban we would not think twice about staying anywhere else.
Small feedback for the owners - the staff seemed to have to deal with a lot of technical problems (they were fantastic about it and so accommodating in responding quickly - but maybe it means maintenance could be better). Phone and TV didn't work in the first room (so we were happily and quickly moved to another). Safe had to be fixed in the second room. And in both rooms the bathroom fans are on a sensor so they go on every time you go in the bathroom and take ages to go off, this noise is annoying - especially at night. (Please note these are minor things and didn't detract from our very happy stay - just constructive feedback!)

Room Tip: All the rooms have different layout and decor - some rooms have an outdoor terrace facing onto a lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Concierge Boutique Bungalows is amazing. The staff brings your experience to another level which makes for a better environment. They treat you as a good friend and not just some stranger and help with anything you need. From the overall decor of the hotel being dachshunds dogs they blend it well into the rooms which are very modern and not over bearing. The bungalows are beautifully set up with big beds, big bathroom and new items from the AC unit to a rain shower with all other luxury items you may need. Some rooms have a outside sitting area which is pleasant during good weather.  Placement of the hotel is in a prime area. Its out of the busy area of beaches if thats your style. It's next to Florida Street where there are plenty of restaurants to chose from and if your walking or driving it is next to a main road which will get you right to the beach. It's a 5-7 minute drive to the beach or about a 40 minute walk. Either way you chose walking or driving its nice. The owners of this place did a great job bringing staff, security and environment together that makes for a great stay. Great job. 

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benapie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
264 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £51 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing