We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Nice cosy rooms with all the functions working. (Apart from the WiFi-some Telkom problem for 5 days)

Unfortunately just across from my room there was a man working on his aluminium room all hours even Sunday and his Car was pulling in and out all the time.

Apart from those things which the hotel has no control over. I liked the place. Very nice managers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggffgghgddfghjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    70
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
116
29
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This long overdue review was prompted by this small hotel's new website launch. We stayed there in November 2012 on our way back from a visit to the turtle hatching in Northern KZN. We absolutely LOVED this place. While the room that we had was not very big, as an overnight stop it was absolutely perfect. It even had a charming little balcony with lots of plants and chairs and drinks table. The bathroom was very spacious with a great 'power shower'. The warmth and friendliness of the staff was really outstanding. The recommendation for dinner was excellent - vibey place, great food. The following morning, the breakfast served in the converted container-restaurant was very special and delicious. Freshest of fresh juice in a wide range of options and interesting hot dishes made it very special. It is very popular with locals as well. The funky touches, the modern decor and furniture, not to mention the outrageous daschund, make this an outstanding place to stay.

Our overnight in a different hotel, on the way up to the turtles,had been so abysmal that we had been dreading our Durban stay. Well, these guys completely changed our view of the city!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBarbieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Arrived late afternoon after a long hot day travelling, the Concierge is tucked away behind the main streets.We asked if we could view the rooms before we signed in and were pleasantly surprised how gorgeous they were.The two rooms were booked by my son/girlfriend back in the UK before we departed and certainly have the wow factor.Primrose and her staff made us all very welcome,after that first night we all certainly wanted to stay a second but unfortunately the place was fully booked.Loved the tea maker and the breakfast is full recommended .

Room Tip: Super comfortable beds, and the most amazing shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I travel around South Africa often for business and have stayed in various hotels around the country. Durban is not really known for its top class hotels but this little gem is definitely worthy of the praise!
I stayed for 2 nights and could have easily stayed much longer.
The only 'bad' experience I had was my noisy neighbor on the second night but other than that it was exceptional!
The beds and bed linen ensured a good nights rest, the 'rainfall' shower is awesome. (If you don't want to wash your hair everyday, bring a shower cap!).
Request a room with a little patio where you can laze for hours in the early mornings before the traffic starts. There is no view but it is really cosy!
The staff were probably the best part of my whole stay! Lucy, Primrose and Carl were exceptional! I didn't get all the names but there was no one who didn't provide exceptional service!
It really felt like Cape Town in Durban!!! That's probably the best compliment I can give them!!
Will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a little patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabejetsetter016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I LOOOOOOVEEEED this little boutique hotel.It was simply wonderful.

The staff was super friendly , we met another couple on our trip here and we had the most amazing fun.

Primrose is such an awesome person and really made us feel super welcome.

The sausage dog theme was also to die for.

Would Recommend this place over and over again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed only one night at CBB and wish i'd stayed longer. The staff were super friendly, the cafe was really unique and cute, the room was clean, stylish, colourful, inventive... the shower was AMAZING, like a waterfall from the ceiling. Wifi was free (which is more than what I can say for several other far more expensive hotels). Bed was HUGE, and the room came with a super cute outdoor/balcony area. What more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessahickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed here for a whole four days and it was just magnificent , would def stay here again,The rooms are spacious , with a dashund theme that i found truly amazing.We had the chance of meeting the owner and what a lovely gentleman.Primrose is also a Gem and they are lucky to have her.The design of the room was very nice and had alot of colours and the shower with the R18 sticker on was truly genious ;)

The restaurant is also to die for.

Keep up the good work and congrats.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonomous03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.9 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Property: The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing