We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I was amazed at how cool the concierge was as soon as I arrived.
So many details and a great vibe. From the cafe to the staff to the accommodation we were extremely happy and this is a great stopover point if you are in Durban..
MUST STAY..

Sandor+Steph

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    71
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
117
29
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at The Concierge for four nights in early July 2014. I had a wonderful experience! My room was extremely clean, the staff bent over backwards to make sure I got to do all the things I wanted to do around town, and they picked me up from and dropped me off at the airport. On two occasions they even ordered me pizza because the restaurant was closed and I didn't want to be out by myself after dark (I was traveling alone).

The breakfast was very, very good as well.

The Concierge sits back off of a main road, so it was sometimes difficult for taxis to find, but that was really the only difficulty (if you can even call it that) during my stay. I would gladly recommend this hotel to friends and family if they were going to Durban.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard may get noisy in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanamaZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great choice for our overnight stay in Durban. Was initially concerned about the location but proved to be no problem. The room was superbly decorated and just adored the bath and shower. Breakfast was excellent so much so at I used this for a breakfast meeting place a week later. Staff were very attentive and friendly and very well priced.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidBo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you don't have a GPS or Map forget about finding this place. By some miracle we did though. Once there check in process was friendly and quick even though it was fairly late by the time we arrived.

Room was great with everything we needed. Very stylish/ funky. Loved the bathroom. Close to Florida Road if you wanted to get something to eat or have a drink.

Staff were fairly friendly at breakfast. Very quirky little breakfast venue in a poshed up container. Breakfast itself was excellent can't fault them there.

Great hidden gem in the heart of Durban.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard/ Cafe can be quite noisy in the Morning/Evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have chosen this hotel based on the photos and other reviews. The hotel itself is nice, the breakfast is absolutely delicious.
The problem is the noise, the cleaning staff is very noisy and woke us up everyday at 7AM... We could also hear noise from other bedrooms at night. The noise insulation it's quite an issue...
There's also an automatic fan in the bathroom that turns on every time you pass close to the bathroom and you can't shut it down (it's automatic)... and since the bathroom doesn't have a door, you can clearly hear the noisy fan in the bedroom.
The hotel has a nice patio and a private parking but if they have an event taking place (happened to us), they will not inform you and you will not be able to use the patio or the parking...
The staff could be more friendly...riendly...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_del_mar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband, parents in law and I stayed in the Concierge hotel for five nights. We really appreciated the nice breakfasts and friendly staff. They were always ready to book taxis for us. I remember Primrose in particular was friendly, and greeted us even when we bumped into her at the Marine World. The hotel felt really homely and all the amenities.The location turned out to be one of the safest in Durban. The botanical garden is within walking distance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank birdieLondon_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What a wonderful place, people and a overall fantastic experience. Relaxed vibe but quality / no expense spared finishes. Food is great and the staff / people are just real, comfortable and make me want to back again and again! I want to tell everyone about it but at the same time keep it as my best kept secret. - Thanks for a wonderfully unique offering!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayneKlopfer242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
0.9 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Property: The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing