We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Nice hotel unfortunately it is at the far end of the beach but the rooms are nice and trendy. I know the area is off the track but a little walking never hurt anyone. The staff are nice the food is good and the rooms are comfortable.

Room Tip: Make sure you r not overlooking the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHRMLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    72
    37
    24
    25
See reviews for
38
72
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

An attempt was obviously made to create a facility that "themes" with the environment. This was partially successful and the "port" theme quite interesting. But the area is seedy and the breakfast (we didn't eat dinner there) was the most awful I've ever had in a hotel. Powdery eggs, suspicous sausages and everything just killed by curry. The staff were friendly. The photo is of the view from my room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at the Docklands hotel for a week so I got to know it pretty well. The room I was in was a superior executive room with balcony overlooking the harbour....a definite WOW when I first saw it! The room was very spacious and the bed was really comfortable with lovely crisp white sheets fresh every day. It was always kept immaculately clean by housekeeping. The decor is fun but there is a design fault with having no door on the shower.....this means you have to put down the shower mat AND a towel to soak up the water after a shower. The hot water always took a long time to work its way through...although it always did eventually. The only thing missing for me was a comfy chair to rest in or watch tv.....otherwise you had to lie on the bed.
Reception and restaurant staff were always friendly and helpful to me which was nice to see. Breakfast was the same everyday...a hot buffet of scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, beans, tomato and potato and a continental with the usual cheeses, fruit meusli etc. Nice choices.
Frequently I got room service as I was travelling alone....this was pretty efficient and good value.The only gripe I had was one evening when I rang for room service I was told there was no room service that night.. only a buffet... as they had a conference in!
All in all,a very good stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB-Moseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl/Rsa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

When the airport shuttle stopped at the hotel I thought we have booked the wrong hotel.The outside exterior looks scary..
Inside we found the staff at reception very friendly and attend to all our needs.
We had to wait for our room and had something to eat at their restaurant.
It was really a very nice lunch.They should just have their wine cooled already and service is very slow.Although it did not bother us.
It is a very busy hotel.Lots of people attending conferences and Sunday morning churches.
The rooms are modern and spacious with a double bed that slept like a dream.
We had a big balcony shared with rooms next door that overlooked the harbour It has a very nice feel to it and added to our stay being so pleasant.
The hotel is not old ,but needs here and there some tender loving care.
Breakfast is lovely and we really enjoyed our stay.Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: third floor wioth balocony no 3014
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemanEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I probably stay at this place every 6 to 8 weeks, love the look and feel. Love the harbour, and they have great staff too. Do yourself a favour, give it a try. Love the open plan feel of the rooms. Certainly will be a regular for as long as i travel to Durbs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I attended a Wedding at this so called 4 star Hotel. The food was terrible and tasteless. the staff untrained. They could not sell me passion fruit and lemonade as there was no stock. There was a std price for all beverages. R 20.00 for water and R 20.00 for brandy. How is this at the least okay? When I bought drinks and asked where is my slip, I was told that there is no slip because it is a mobile bar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Staff started clearing all the tables at 21:30 when we had the venue till 24h00.... Appauling and a total rip off. Management and staff have no respect for the people entering the Hotel. There was a great "don't care" attitude among the staff.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shanny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Docklands is a very great hotel. Will definitely stay with them again. The restaurant also serve excelent food. The atmosvere is comfortable and friendly. All the staff are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cornelia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel and Spa

Property: The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Address: 40 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Durban Point Waterfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa (Formally known as the Three Cities Docklands Hotel) is located in the historical Durban Point Precinct. On the door step of Ushaka Marine World, Durban ICC and the famous Durban Golden Mile. The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa offers a quiet oasis overlooking the Durban Harbour. Offering Wodka Restaurant and three conference venues, The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa is enjoyed by the local artist crowd. Historical Walls have been retained to envelope the recently refurbished Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing