We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-Drawer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Top-Drawer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is one of the most relaxing and soothing family holiday I had in years. The Wodka Restaurant staff were superb, the housekeeping team (you guys rock) you don't get to meet these angels but when you come back, the rooms are spotlessly clean and at all times.
Dean (the Floor Manager) this gentleman will stop at nothing to make you feel at home and welcome. Very professional and irreproachable.

Thanks to everyone at The Docklands

Room Tip: As long as you are in the property the excellent services will surpass the flaws (if there is any) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thabang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Thabang

Thank you for your wonderful words on your recent stay with us here at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel. We welcome all feedback, and thank you for your recognition of members of our team that have shown exceptional service.

We are happy to know that we created a memorable guest experience and hope to welcome you back at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    71
    35
    23
    25
See reviews for
37
68
11
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langebaan, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

So much more than we expected, considering the location (in the docks, so to speak)!!! Dean, the manager on duty, is well worth mentioning. Very friendly, helpfull and really going that extra mile to welcome you and make one feel at home. Dean also has very well trained and supportive staff in the Wodka restaurant and bar. The included breakfast was the best on the trip. We plan our next visit to Durban early in 2014 and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Congratulations on your recent marriage, and on behalf of the Three Cities Docklands Team, we would like to wish you a wonderful lifetime together.

Thank you for your review of your honeymoon stay with us here.
Your recognition of the service that you received from Dean, will be passed on to him, and he will get the recognition that he deserves for creating a memorable stay with us here at the Three Cities Docklands Hotel.

Once again thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtunzini, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The staff at the front desk and Wodka Restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Found the decor very appealing and modern. The bed and linen were clean and comfortable, which resulted in a bad sleeper having a wonderful nights rest. The lack of air conditioning in the hot Natal summers, was a let down. Having breakfast at 6.30 was a plus point especially for business people who need to get to work. The coffee and croissants was divine, and the breakfast buffet looked very appetizing. The omelette was very dry. Would I go back? Yes. Why? Because of the friendly staff, the clean comfortable bed and the proximity to uShaka Marine World and Moyo Pier Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us here at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel.

We welcome all feedback in order to constantly improve our guest service that we offer.Your feedback regarding our Air-conditioning has been noted, and we would like to advise that we have managed to find a resolution and attend to the problem.

We are happy to know that we created a memorable guest experience and hope to welcome you back at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had our wedding at the Docklands Hotel and it was absolutely beautiful. I was very impressed by the service we received, the staff were extremely helpful and always ready to lend a hand. I spent the weekend at the hotel and had dinner at the Wodka Restaurant on Friday night. We were treated like royalty that night, infact the entire weekend. The chef sent a special dessert selection, and came over to introduce himself before we left, which was a nice touch. The breakfast was scrumptious and a wonderful selection of foods.The Saturday evening of the wedding, I couldn't have asked for more. The waitrons were super efficient. When supper was served, we each had a waitron waiting for us to assist us in carrying our meals to our table. The food was delicious and a splendid variety. We still receive so many compliments about our choice of venue. I'll definitely be dining at Docklands again whenever I visit Durban.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMerrill, General Manager at The Waterfront Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor regarding your wedding that was held at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel in October. We hope by now you have settled into your married life well and are about to enjoy your first Christmas as Mr and Mrs.

We are happy to know that we created a special and memorable day for you to carry further in your new lives together.

Congratulations from all off the Team at The Three Cities Docklands Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Area
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Not the best of facilities after a long day on the road.

Room was hot - the staff had left the blinds on the very large west facing room open.

At least our air conditioning worked and the room cooled down for sleeping, others on our tour were'nt so lucky.

By comparison to the other four hotels we had stopped at the breakfast buffet was abysmal.

Otherwise front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure your room A/C works and your room isn't overlooking the bar courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Senior_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stuck at the end of Point Rd there is nothing happening here. Definately need a car to get anywhere. Someone tried hard a while ago but then let everything get tired and rundown. In my room the table lamp was coming away from the wall, plug fittings falling off, carpet curling up and door to verandah jammed.

Lady at reception tried hard but was useless. On two occasions when I got to my room the magnetic key did not work. Had to go all the way back to reception to get a new one made. Real pain.

Furniture is courtyard was tired and dirty. Lucky there are no lights else no one would sit on it.

The only redeeming feature was the staff and food from Wodka. They were extremely pleasant, professional and attentive. Had dinner there twice, as couldnt find anywhere else close to eat, and rally enjoyed the food. However the breakfast included in the rate was aweful. Shocking coffee and an omelette that was dry and tasteless.

Sorry to be so brutal but was the experience I had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clinton_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Docklands is a fantastic hotel, hidden away just past the Ushaka Marine Centre. Because it is not a sea facing property, many will disregard it. But, they will regret not giving it a go. The rooms are formidable. Mostly with balconies. The service is 2nd to none & the food served in the restaurant is just a delight. Ushaka Marine Centre is literally a 1 minute drive (you do not walk in Durban) away. There the shops are a wonder & not tourist traps. There are countless restaurants & you can sit over looking the sea as well. Breakfast at the hotel is slick & excellent. I thoroughly recommend this hotel & will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor corner suites. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#23 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel and Spa

Property: The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Address: 40 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Durban Point Waterfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa (Formally known as the Three Cities Docklands Hotel) is located in the historical Durban Point Precinct. On the door step of Ushaka Marine World, Durban ICC and the famous Durban Golden Mile. The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa offers a quiet oasis overlooking the Durban Harbour. Offering Wodka Restaurant and three conference venues, The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa is enjoyed by the local artist crowd. Historical Walls have been retained to envelope the recently refurbished Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing