We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street scenes signature tour”
Review of Street Scene Tours

Street Scene Tours
Ranked #5 of 72 Tours in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street Scene Tours was created by Sthembiso Mbonanbi, Jonas Barausse and Richard Powell, in early 2010, with one unique goal set at its core; to showcase Durban to Durbanites. As you can imagine this is by no means the conventional stance of a tour operator, but Street Scene is not your conventional tour operator. They are constantly exploring Durban and its surrounds, ever on the lookout for nuggets of history and the many hidden gems the province has to offer.Durban and its surrounding areas are filled with a rich tapestry of history which is largely unknown not only to tourists, but also its residents. After all, Mahatma Gandhi made Durban his home for many years, and it was just outside Durban that Nelson Mandela cast his vote in the 1994 elections that forever changed South Africa. The great King Shaka Zulu also spent much time on the very land upon which Durbanites now call home.From the city's architecture to its people, Street Scene aims to engulf its guests in all that is Durban. They started out with their focus on locals but soon realized that when you create a set of tours that residents of the city love, you are guaranteed to have tours that visitors to the city will find riveting and unique. There is nothing conventional about Street Scene Tours, and that's just the way we like it.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
1 review
“Street scenes signature tour”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing day with friendly and super knowledgable guide. You will see and experience things that are unforgettable. I can't recommend highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonasBarausse, Owner at Street Scene Tours, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks a mill Gary,

We hope the rest of your adventures were grand!

Stay in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

DONT BOOK WITH ANYONE ELSE!!!!
I can't thank Sthembiso enough for a brilliant day, educational, entertaining, emotional. He is passionate about South Africa's and Durban's History and is very knowledgeable. I thought I knew a lot about this and i learnt so much. Met some wonderful people along the way. My special thanks to the lovely guide at Ohlange Institute and John Dube's house.
This is not a drive through gawp at people but a real opportunity to learn about the struggle for Freedom before the modern ANC and Mandela. As well as a chance to see what life is really like in a township ( not as bad as you may think). Sthembiso is from KwaMashu so knows the people and the place inside out, he is engaging and wonderful company.
Thank you for a great day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CassieLou_KZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonasBarausse, Owner at Street Scene Tours, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
You sure know how to make an entire team blush with pride. Thanks so much for the kind words. The whole Street Scene team prides itself on communicating their sense of excitement about our country to our guests, to hear you left with some of that inside you gives us a sense of a job well done. Travel safe and stay in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sani Pass Tour”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We took the tour to Lesotho up through the Sani Pass in a 4 x 4. The scenery was fantastic. It was probably our favorite day in Durban. Ask for Rudi for your tour guide; he took us up, and he was incredible. Not only was he very candid about South African culture, he also was very familiar with the locals in Lesotho. He literally knew everyone we passed and could tell us stories about individual people instead of just the usual spiel about the culture. Also, he is a professional photographer, so all the pictures he took of us were great! One thing to remember for the Sani Pass tour is to take your passport for the South Africa-Lesotho border and some money for trinkets that you can buy at the local village and drinks. You can have a drink at the highest pub in Africa!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank okayserasera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonasBarausse, Owner at Street Scene Tours, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thrilled to hear the Mountain Kingdom treated you well. Rudi asked to pass along his regards and hopes the pics came out great!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Sthembiso and Richard created a memorable experience for me and my students which they are still talking about several weeks later. Highly recommended for travelers who want a unique experience and an opportunity to see South Africa's greatest treasure; it's people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonasBarausse, Owner at Street Scene Tours, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We hope to see you and your students again soon. Travel safe and stay well.
Regards from the whole Street Scene familia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
“AMAZULUZING”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arranged a see of for a friend going back to states, arranged a 22 seater bus and packed it 19 of us and I can tell you no one got off that bus unhappy or unimpressed. It really was an awesome time. Sthembiso the tour guide kept the good vibes going and knowledge flowing, the stop's were all awesome and the people already there were almost having as much fun as us and were more than happy to join in.

All in all, it's a simple equation - Good Vibes, Awesome Chow and Cold Beer's - executed in pure class and in a new area's to ensure the full enjoyment for all.

I truly do recommend this trip for all.

Go on Adventure peep's, and let Street Scene show you the way

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whyisthissohardtonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonasBarausse, Owner at Street Scene Tours, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hey Kev,

Many thanks for the review. Too chuffed to hear you had such a great day. Sthembiso said you guys really got stuck into the experience :)

Thanks for thinking of us and letting us show you a different side of your home town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Street Scene Tours also viewed

 

Been to Street Scene Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing