We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saint James on Venice Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
76
37
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
37
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teababy showerdouble storeyboutique hotelsmall hotelloved our stayconference roombusiness staypleasant stayeasy accesshome away from homeroom was spaciousvenuewaterpolokudamorningsidecouch
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The St. James is a beautifully renovated historic building with an excellent kitchen, an elegant and very friendly service and it's close to all Durban attractions. Sunet and her staff gave every support for our stay and activities.
We stayed at the St James as a start to a 14days visit to SA with our 2 sons (15+12) and we had such a warm welcome, super comfy beds, delicious breakfast (what a wide choice!) and dinner. High Tea was sumptuous and the best preparation for a Sharks Game :)! Coming back to Durban we even changed plans and spent our last night in South Africa at the St. James again. We enjoyed the garden rooms and the elegant ambiente of the patio before flying back to Switzerland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms 9&10 and the garden rooms. All of them were stylish and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liztaylor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunet P, Manager at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

I hope the weather has not turned too cold there in Zurich? We look forward to welcoming you and your boys back soon, Durban's surf is waiting...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant stay indeed. Situated in Ann old neighbourhood, it nevertheless has a charm of its own. Very comfortable, stylishly refurbished rooms and an excellent restaurant make this a business refuge of note.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunet P, Manager at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank-you Andrew, please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great hotel within close proximity to all Durban attractions. It is a elderly building which has been tastefully converted to a hotel. It feels very secure and safe. The staff are excellent providing very professional standards without getting in your face. The food is varied and tasty, I loved the breakfast choice which competes with the best of English breakfasts. The rooms are great, but some aspects are becoming a bit tired, a good maintenance man is needed to tweak the odd fault to bring it up to the" as new" standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunet P, Manager at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

I am happy to report that Thulani our handy-man has been hard at work making sure this old 'Dame' is well maintained. We hope you visit us again soon from the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at The St James on Venice while in Durban recently, and what a wonderful experience it was. If you like five-star quality of the best hotels (without the crowds and noise), combined with the intimacy, peace and quiet of a good guest house (without a hovering owner that wants to introduce you to everybody else and the dog), then St James on Venice is the place to go. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeEf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunet P, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good Day
Thank-you for the excellent score given in your review. It certainly is a beautiful old building, dating back over 120 years.
Warm Regards

Sunet and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you are from Durban - try their high tea- you opulent possibly be disappointed- if you need a venue for upmarket baby shower , kitchen tea or even a small wedding - I can recommend them with onfidence - proffesional but personal service .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunet P, General Manager at The Saint James on Venice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good Day
Thank-you for the excellent score given in your review. The staff at the hotel is certainly what sets us apart from everyone else.
Warm Regards

Sunet and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews