We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the downhill slopes”

Yiroll Caffebake - Coffee Shop
Ranked #5 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Durban
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“On the downhill slopes”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Yiroll used to be a lovely place for their yummy club baguettes, but after a long absence, I took some friends there last week and was very, very disappointed!
Service - You can't complain because there is none...sorry but that's how I see it. Your staff are more interested in personal chats that your customers!
Prompt Delivery - Took 'forever' to deliver a few sandwiches!
Value - 1 baguette can be enough for 2 people
End Result - Very disappointing sadly!
Like so many restaurants in Durban, great when they start off, then die a horrible death!
Come on Yiroll...you can regain your splendour!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruisingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Went to Yiroll after about 8 years and the food was just as divine as it was when I first went there. First time I took my kids and they want to go back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doonside, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good healthy food”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband and I love going to Yiroll - their baguette is so big we share one. They pack it full of your choice of meat and salads, and their sauce is divine! One baguette fills both of us!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Baguette Heaven”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Whenever I'm passing by I stop for a Baguette! Trip[le Salami for me and Chicken Mayo for my girls... rolls and fillings always fresh and Yummy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobFisherSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
“A Review of my many visits to Yiroll Caffebake”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have had the pleasure of visiting Yiroll on many occasions and sampled many different dishes over time. My favourite is the Empire State Bagel which contains tender chicken fillets and peppadews. I have always had good service from friendly staff and good food. I have taken friends there, been there on my own and been with my family and not once have I had anything to complain about. The standard of their food has remained the same since I started going there 3 years ago and as far as I'm concerned it's good. In terms of other's comments regarding flies, not once have I had any experience of that so I am not sure what brought that on. As for other's comments regarding management at Yiroll, every time I have been there management has always been on hand and interested in their customers opinions/feedback.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yiroll Caffebake - Coffee Shop also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Yiroll Caffebake - Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing