We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect view of Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect view of Durban”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked in for a nite for my hubby's birthday. It's a great location - close to malls and centres and Florida Rd- great for restaurants . The staff was helpful and polite. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was spectacular. Having spent a lot of time in hotels this year whilst traveling -I can say for certain that was one of the best sleeps ! I lived in Durban or 21years and hadn't seen a view of Durban like that before:) the balcony was also quite big.

There was renovations going on so there were loose wires from the ceiling in the hallways. We also had to wait for the elevator quite a few minutes from the basement.

The breakfast and the service at the restaurant was outstanding . The omelette was made with great flavours and texture:)

Our biggest disappointed was with the spa located in the basement of the hotel which we booked four hours with. He staff were friendly and I enjoyed my massage but my husband did not. He might have had a trainee. The facial was old but no dim lights so we went from darkness to bright lights. The scrub was not very long and not thorough and the pedicure was average. My husbands feet looked like he didn't even get a pedicure. Yet again - the girls were friendly. This was a gift for my husband so I was disappointed :(

I would stay at coastlands again . I do hope to spa becomes more in line with international standards especially with a French named spa.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    74
    32
    28
    12
See reviews for
31
53
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

A great location, situdated at the top of Durban City with views overlooking the whole city. The balcony is a plus as it huge and makes you feel like a king. The rooms are in good condition and are very warm. The staff are friendly but need to be more engaging. The only issue i had was that the T.V did not function well. The pool was not well maintained. The hotel maintainence is poor with holes in the cielings in some arrears but overall a nice experience in durban.

Room Tip: Book the top level as you get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maye k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The staff here are quite nice and the rooms very spacious. However, there is a significant noise issue. Rooms facing away from the street are subject to a very loud constant drone from hotel ventilation fans. Rooms facing the street ("deluxe") have traffic noise, and noise from music on the first floor. There was a non-stop loud party that went on for days on more than one floor, with hotel management unable to control it when called. Electrical wiring was by an evil electrician - it took me and a colleague 20 minutes time to sort out how to turn off all the lights. The only available electrical outlets have European two prong outlets that won't fit standard South African plugs - you'll have to unplug a lamp to have an outlet with a standard plug. Breakfast food is very good, with just average food at other times. Public areas have constant loud music and televisions blaring - though staff were willing to reduce volume. There may be some maintenance problems because of mould on the ceiling in the lobby area.This is not a hotel for those who desire quiet or a place for quiet work or meetings. Finally the hotel demanded payment for the entire stay upfront, with hotel credit offered for early checkout. The hotel is in a good location and in a reasonably safe neighborhood - but not safe enough for nighttime strolls.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are probably on the top floors, non-street side, and furthest away from the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Went for lunch yesterday in the alleged fine dining resturant, was not greeted or even shown to a table, the staff never even bothered to bring menus for the table.
manager was extremely rude, meal was delivered late and incorrect, a prego steak roll that was overcooked and with rotten salad leaves!!!
waiter had cleared my tea before i had even finished !

Was literally handed the bill and rushed out the dining area, know i now why it was completely empty wont be going back again.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durbanlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I booked through an online agency and got a great deal on a deluxe room. On the plus side, the accommodation was attractive and spacious with a large balcony and stunning panoramic views of Durban. I thought the food was good and service in the restaurant and terrace bar area was fine.

The location was good for me being close to family I was visiting, but is not necessarily the perfect location for holidaying out of towners.

On the down side, although the room was well appointed some details need work - cigarette burns on the night table, no main switch so you have to search the room before bed to find all light switches and a scarred bath with no overhead shower attachment so you can't use the shower hose in the bath for a shower.

When I arrived no porter was in evidence and my driver had to lug my cases unassisted. Reception was quiet yet I was ignored by the receptionist and had to push to be served. Throughout my stay service was unreliable and many staff members appeared ignorant of common politeness. Occasional friendly service only highlighted this issue.

Hotel grounds are small and the pool area needs attention - it appears to belong to an adjoining house and feels peculiar, with no privacy at all from the main carpark and entrance.

Overall the hotel has the potential to be good but feels under managed and under maintained - a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Broken lamps, impossible to find switches, cracked walls and poor service. Overall a very bad experience in a country that otherwise had fine hotels, good service and pleasant people. Durban is known to have pride in its hospitality and service. We hope that this was an aberration or that they will make efforts to improve themselves

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner R, Manager at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Good Day

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Management is doing all in its power to investigate this issue as this not the type of service we offer.
Hope to host you in the near future with gauranteed change of perception.

Kind Regards,
Nishal Ramnarain
Coastlands on the Ridge Musgrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

i stayed in this hotel during the Fifa World Cup 2010
the hotel's location is good, the View From the rooms of the ocean and palm trees, the sun rise is heavenly beautiful.
the rooms are spacious modern and perfectly decorated
Food.... Wasn't the best but it is very good too.
Prices are a bit high but probably that was because of the World Cup
The Concierge Man Hussein is very helpful
i do advise everyone to visit this beautiful Hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nashwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.3 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#19 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Musgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Property: Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Address: 315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Musgrave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Crest of Ridge road with spectacular views over Durban, Coastlands Musgrave Hotel offers 101 modern and comfortable bedrooms. It boasts 58 Standard Rooms, 41 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites. This hotel is ideal for the discerning corporate, leisure and international traveler and is situated minutes away from Durban's iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Greyville Racecourse, Suncoast Casino, uShaka Marine World, Durban Beaches on the Golden Mile and is a mere 35 minutes drive from King Shaka International Airport. Durban University of Technology is 2.5 km from the hotel.Our 6th floor conference and events centre is the ideal venue for your next conference, function or special occasion and we are able to tailor-make a package that suit your needs. We work with suppliers of the highest standard and we are able to assist in any decor or technical requirements.Sip on a cocktail or your favorite drink on our terrace or next to the pool, and enjoy a scrumptious A-la-Carte dinner in our 315 Restaurant. Our Friday evening Spice and Saturday night Seafood Buffet is legendary and offers live entertainment. Room service is available 24 hours a day and our coffee shop serves delectable cakes and desserts.All our bedrooms are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, flat-screen televisions with DSTV and tea & coffee making facilities, laundry service and turndown service.Our friendly and professional staff at the Concierge desk is able to assist you in transport arrangements, luggage storage and guests are welcome to make use of our business centre which offers internet, printing and fax facilities. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.Coastlands Musgrave Hotel welcomes you to Durban, and invites you to explore and experience our beautiful province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coastlands Musgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlands On The Ridge Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing