We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
94
99
38
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
99
38
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge balconyno porkconference venueexcellent servicebuffet dinnerthe hotel is cleanroom was spaciousbeautiful hotelkeep up the good workhouse keepingreception staffexcellent staypleasant stayenjoyed my stayhome away from homeestablishmentworkshop
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Took a family holiday to this superb hotel last year . Room was extremely spacious, contemporary, functional and everything you could ask for. Wifi awesome, Halaal Breakfast, great service and heavenly spa..... My wife still maintains that the Fleur de lis spa at Coastlands does the best pedicure.... Thanks Charlene.

Room Tip: If you book a spa treatment ou qualify for discounted rates on the accommodation,,,,,
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IsmailLambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked in for a nite for my hubby's birthday. It's a great location - close to malls and centres and Florida Rd- great for restaurants . The staff was helpful and polite. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was spectacular. Having spent a lot of time in hotels this year whilst traveling -I can say for certain that was one of the best sleeps ! I lived in Durban or 21years and hadn't seen a view of Durban like that before:) the balcony was also quite big.

There was renovations going on so there were loose wires from the ceiling in the hallways. We also had to wait for the elevator quite a few minutes from the basement.

The breakfast and the service at the restaurant was outstanding . The omelette was made with great flavours and texture:)

Our biggest disappointed was with the spa located in the basement of the hotel which we booked four hours with. He staff were friendly and I enjoyed my massage but my husband did not. He might have had a trainee. The facial was old but no dim lights so we went from darkness to bright lights. The scrub was not very long and not thorough and the pedicure was average. My husbands feet looked like he didn't even get a pedicure. Yet again - the girls were friendly. This was a gift for my husband so I was disappointed :(

I would stay at coastlands again . I do hope to spa becomes more in line with international standards especially with a French named spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A great location, situdated at the top of Durban City with views overlooking the whole city. The balcony is a plus as it huge and makes you feel like a king. The rooms are in good condition and are very warm. The staff are friendly but need to be more engaging. The only issue i had was that the T.V did not function well. The pool was not well maintained. The hotel maintainence is poor with holes in the cielings in some arrears but overall a nice experience in durban.

Room Tip: Book the top level as you get a good view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maye k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The staff here are quite nice and the rooms very spacious. However, there is a significant noise issue. Rooms facing away from the street are subject to a very loud constant drone from hotel ventilation fans. Rooms facing the street ("deluxe") have traffic noise, and noise from music on the first floor. There was a non-stop loud party that went on for days on more than one floor, with hotel management unable to control it when called. Electrical wiring was by an evil electrician - it took me and a colleague 20 minutes time to sort out how to turn off all the lights. The only available electrical outlets have European two prong outlets that won't fit standard South African plugs - you'll have to unplug a lamp to have an outlet with a standard plug. Breakfast food is very good, with just average food at other times. Public areas have constant loud music and televisions blaring - though staff were willing to reduce volume. There may be some maintenance problems because of mould on the ceiling in the lobby area.This is not a hotel for those who desire quiet or a place for quiet work or meetings. Finally the hotel demanded payment for the entire stay upfront, with hotel credit offered for early checkout. The hotel is in a good location and in a reasonably safe neighborhood - but not safe enough for nighttime strolls.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are probably on the top floors, non-street side, and furthest away from the kitchen area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Went for lunch yesterday in the alleged fine dining resturant, was not greeted or even shown to a table, the staff never even bothered to bring menus for the table.
manager was extremely rude, meal was delivered late and incorrect, a prego steak roll that was overcooked and with rotten salad leaves!!!
waiter had cleared my tea before i had even finished !

Was literally handed the bill and rushed out the dining area, know i now why it was completely empty wont be going back again.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank durbanlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews