We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIB Networking breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Today I went to the woman in business network breakfast at Coastlands, and what a lovely experience, the staff and presentation were exquisite and overall very professional and friendly. The food I would rate as 5 stars with a variety of flavours available in the cooked breakfast buffet, as well as fresh fuits, beautifully presented croissants, muesli and yogurt garnished tastefully and creatively, with stemmed cherries and shavings of sugared orange zest.

Tables were clean and beautifully presented with flowers and clean cutlery. Well done to Coastlands you treated us really well and your service excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Saysha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

the rooms are extremely small.My wife requested an iron and ironing board for 5 minutes and we were told that they do not provide it for safety reasons.on walking out of the room the next door room was open and lo and behold those guests had an iron and ironing board.the management seem to select which guests to provide services to.on the plus side the bed and pillows were comfortable and the breakfast was not too bad

Room Tip: if you have to stay in this hotel,ask for a suite
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haroun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Superb hotel with exceptional service overlooking Durban. Situated perfectly for access to the stadium and routes to north and south coast. Although the hotel was empty, we had a rear facing room for our 7 night stay which was a little disappointing , but the views of the city are awesome, insist on a forward facing room.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brettb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is located on a ridge that provides a wonderful view of Durban and a sense of being in the thick of things. Each guest room as far as I am aware has a balcony, but this did not affect sleep too much. The rooms are impeccably cleaned and service is prompt and dependable. Breakfast was an average buffet, but well prepared. staff are friendly and efficient. A gym would make this hotel perfect. The in-house spa is very convenient and accommodating. I had a last minute treatment done with professionalism and care.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are preferable to avoid waiting for the lift, and use the stairs instead.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malabarcaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Took a family holiday to this superb hotel last year . Room was extremely spacious, contemporary, functional and everything you could ask for. Wifi awesome, Halaal Breakfast, great service and heavenly spa..... My wife still maintains that the Fleur de lis spa at Coastlands does the best pedicure.... Thanks Charlene.

Room Tip: If you book a spa treatment ou qualify for discounted rates on the accommodation,,,,,
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IsmailLambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We booked in for a nite for my hubby's birthday. It's a great location - close to malls and centres and Florida Rd- great for restaurants . The staff was helpful and polite. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was spectacular. Having spent a lot of time in hotels this year whilst traveling -I can say for certain that was one of the best sleeps ! I lived in Durban or 21years and hadn't seen a view of Durban like that before:) the balcony was also quite big.

There was renovations going on so there were loose wires from the ceiling in the hallways. We also had to wait for the elevator quite a few minutes from the basement.

The breakfast and the service at the restaurant was outstanding . The omelette was made with great flavours and texture:)

Our biggest disappointed was with the spa located in the basement of the hotel which we booked four hours with. He staff were friendly and I enjoyed my massage but my husband did not. He might have had a trainee. The facial was old but no dim lights so we went from darkness to bright lights. The scrub was not very long and not thorough and the pedicure was average. My husbands feet looked like he didn't even get a pedicure. Yet again - the girls were friendly. This was a gift for my husband so I was disappointed :(

I would stay at coastlands again . I do hope to spa becomes more in line with international standards especially with a French named spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A great location, situdated at the top of Durban City with views overlooking the whole city. The balcony is a plus as it huge and makes you feel like a king. The rooms are in good condition and are very warm. The staff are friendly but need to be more engaging. The only issue i had was that the T.V did not function well. The pool was not well maintained. The hotel maintainence is poor with holes in the cielings in some arrears but overall a nice experience in durban.

Room Tip: Book the top level as you get a good view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maye k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
2.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
2.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Musgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Address: 315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Musgrave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Crest of Ridge road with spectacular views over Durban, Coastlands Musgrave Hotel offers 101 modern and comfortable bedrooms. It boasts 58 Standard Rooms, 41 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites. This hotel is ideal for the discerning corporate, leisure and international traveler and is situated minutes away from Durban's iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Greyville Racecourse, Suncoast Casino, uShaka Marine World, Durban Beaches on the Golden Mile and is a mere 35 minutes drive from King Shaka International Airport. Durban University of Technology is 2.5 km from the hotel.Our 6th floor conference and events centre is the ideal venue for your next conference, function or special occasion and we are able to tailor-make a package that suit your needs. We work with suppliers of the highest standard and we are able to assist in any decor or technical requirements.Sip on a cocktail or your favorite drink on our terrace or next to the pool, and enjoy a scrumptious A-la-Carte dinner in our 315 Restaurant. Our Friday evening Spice and Saturday night Seafood Buffet is legendary and offers live entertainment. Room service is available 24 hours a day and our coffee shop serves delectable cakes and desserts.All our bedrooms are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, flat-screen televisions with DSTV and tea & coffee making facilities, laundry service and turndown service.Our friendly and professional staff at the Concierge desk is able to assist you in transport arrangements, luggage storage and guests are welcome to make use of our business centre which offers internet, printing and fax facilities. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.Coastlands Musgrave Hotel welcomes you to Durban, and invites you to explore and experience our beautiful province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coastlands Musgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlands On The Ridge Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing