We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible-all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed there for ten days, firstly they gave us the wrong room and refused to fix the problem. After arguing with management cos we had been travelling for a while they agreed to give us a larger room as there were 3 of us. They let us into our room but left us without a key and in darkness for an hour no matter how many times we called them etc. We had a kid with us and its was 8:30 pm. The buffet constantly had flies all over it, staff was unhelpful and there was never available parkingfor our car. Theres actually more but you get the picture, just awful for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caterina0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel and enjoyed the friendly staff and the hotel in general. I do have one gripe in that our meals were included in the package and everything either had a Tikka or Curry flavour.I enjoy a good curry but when it is served for lunch and dinner it gets to be a bit much. Two folk that were part of our group staying there do not eat curry at all or any food that has a bite of sorts.They were recommended to eat the Beef - But even this still had a "burn" in it of some kind and these folk could not eat it. The Restaurant stated that they would then cook them a piece of fish - Which turned out to be dry and tasteless. Surely as a Hotel catering for the masses we would be informed of this prior to confirmation of booking. At Breakfast there was no bacon available and I was informed that the hotel was Halaal. I respect that - But as a Paying guest I would respect that I am advised of this prior to booking. Please respect me as the paying guest to be able to make a informed decision about what my breakfast preferences are.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Good afternoon

Thank you for staying at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel and for your recent review. We are happy to know that you were impressed with the overall service and facilities of the hotel.

We apologize that the food was at times too spicy - and we have discussed your comments with our Food and Beverage team as well as our Executive Chef.

We value your feedback and have taken your constructive comments in a serious manner and we will be more clear regarding our Halaal status to guests in future upon reservation. We do however offer substitutes (a variety of meat) such as Chicken livers, Lamb / Beef sausages.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coastlands Hotels and Resorts in the near future.

Regards

Andre-B van Wyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here for a recent work trip and it was a great experience. The breakfast was massive and wide ranging, there were also friendly staff ready to assist. The room was spacious and well appointed. If I had one criticism it would be that the shower was a handheld that had no housing or curtain over the bath, so it was tough to take a good shower. Some of my colleagues did have a shower, so I know some rooms do have them.

Thanks again everyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonners50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Good afternoon

Thank you for your review and positive comments about out hotel. We are glad that you were impressed with the food, facilities and service. Some of our rooms have showers and some have baths. The normal procedure is that the person taking the reservation would ask your preference, which sometimes is not specified when group bookings are made. We hope that you will return to Coastlands Hotels and Resorts in the near future and we thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

To the Management and Staff at Coastlands on the Ridge,

I hope that this correspondence does justification about the way I wish to express appreciation to all the staff at your fine establishment.

My wife and I spent 18 wonderful days at your hotel, and I think spending 18 days at Coastlands on the Ridge qualifies us to comment fairly about your hotel, staff and the service.

We are South Africans who have spent the last 13 years in Australia, and returned to South Africa on a visit to family and friends. For about two and a half weeks, Coastlands on the Ridge was our home, and what a fine home it was.

From the moment we stepped into the reception area, we were warmly received. The reception staff were extremely helpful in selecting a room that suited us well. The cleanliness and layout of the room was outstanding. The view from the room, magnificent.

Breakfast in the morning was a treat. The selection, quality and preparation of the food of very high standard. The staff (management, supervisor, chefs and waiters) never failed to greet us each morning with a welcoming smile and a friendly word or two. They made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Your manager, who was on duty in the lounge most mornings,said to us on our first day, that Coastlands strives to make the hotel a home from home, and he was more than right.

We wish to thank all your staff for the fine hospitality. The security who waved to us daily when we entered and left the hotel, the housekeeping staff who not only dressed the beds and cleaned the rooms daily, but were the first to greet us cheerfully every morning, all the staff at breakfast, the lounge and reception who displayed such fine etiquette that is seldom found in many international establishments. We left your hotel with a heavy heart, as though parting from dear friends.

I cannot compare you to the finest hotels in Australia, because you are beyond comparison. We have travelled widely, and by far, yours was the best service we have experienced. Well done Coastlands on the Ridge and keep up the good work. Hopefully we shall have the opportunity to be accommodated by you again.

We’ll appreciate you passing on our heartfelt thanks to all your staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_April2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As a family, we had a great stay at the elegant Coastlands Musgrave. I had booked two deluxe rooms (interleading) and we were very comfortable.
Cleanliness for me is key at a hotel, and I must admit, the rooms felt and looked fresh. The beds were made up morning and evening.
We enjoyed the ample space on the balcony as well as the superb view of the city, harbour and ocean. Perfect for watching the sun rise! This hotel was very convenient for our stay.
There were birthday parties celebrated on the 2 consecutive nights we stayed at the hotel. This created a lively vibe, and when we retreated to our rooms, we were not disturbed at all by the function taking place downstairs.
A special thanks to Allen who was always seen around chatting to guests making sure we were comfortable. I shall certainly be visiting Coastlands Musgrave again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms have large balconies with views of the city, harbour and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NazC786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i had paid for a so called deluxe room at this establishment for the easter long weekend 2014 (18 April to 21 April 2014).
when i first got to the room, the lock on the door didnt work, maintenance came up and fixed that.
the airconditioning duct was rotting around the corners and water dripping onto the carpet and sometimes on my head (wasn't that nice)
i also requested to be moved as the family next to me was very noisy and that noise usually started at around 6:00AM, but no one even came back to me about the move.
i requested late check out around 12:00 on that day, i was called twice on that day making sure that i leave before 12 or they would bill me.

i felt as if i were being kicked out, i had never felt so humiliated in my life, and i cant believe i paid extra to stay at this place.

and i am pretty sure, based on the customer service received at this establishment, if at all they do read this, all i will get is some miserable apology.

thank you Coastlands on the ridge, for making me realise that southern sun is the way to go.

i had once stayed there on check out date till 2:00PM with no problem .

please take a lesson from them, they know a thing or two about customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaheera100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

the Coastlands at Musgrave is a pretty new building, so expectations were high.
Location for our purpose was perfect. Its not anywhere near the beach or the city centre, but perfect for those out of town guests wanting to be close to family. Yep, this hotel is in the burbs, but a short 10 minute drive to town or beach or shopping or highway. Restaurants are close too.
The hotel is designed with all rooms front facing having balcony access. The rear rooms were adjacent to a passageway which made privacy and noise an issue.
Breakfast is typical but scarce offerings.
the general perception is that of clean comforts and affordability, with parking a breeze and extremely convenient..
price- its cheaper to book through a hotel booking site than directly- go figure!
overall, its one I'd recommend for a quick overnight stay.

Room Tip: ask for the sea/ street facing rooms. you have a good view from the balcony. the rear facing ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottyboy_powerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good morning

Thank you for your recent comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coastlands Hotels and Resorts in the near future.

Andre-B van Wyk
Group Marketing and Sales Manager
Coastlands Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
638 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 44 in Durban
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Musgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Address: 315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Musgrave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Crest of Ridge road with spectacular views over Durban, Coastlands Musgrave Hotel offers 101 modern and comfortable bedrooms. It boasts 58 Standard Rooms, 41 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites. This hotel is ideal for the discerning corporate, leisure and international traveler and is situated minutes away from Durban's iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Greyville Racecourse, Suncoast Casino, uShaka Marine World, Durban Beaches on the Golden Mile and is a mere 35 minutes drive from King Shaka International Airport. Durban University of Technology is 2.5 km from the hotel.Our 6th floor conference and events centre is the ideal venue for your next conference, function or special occasion and we are able to tailor-make a package that suit your needs. We work with suppliers of the highest standard and we are able to assist in any decor or technical requirements.Sip on a cocktail or your favorite drink on our terrace or next to the pool, and enjoy a scrumptious A-la-Carte dinner in our 315 Restaurant. Our Friday evening Spice and Saturday night Seafood Buffet is legendary and offers live entertainment. Room service is available 24 hours a day and our coffee shop serves delectable cakes and desserts.All our bedrooms are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, flat-screen televisions with DSTV and tea & coffee making facilities, laundry service and turndown service.Our friendly and professional staff at the Concierge desk is able to assist you in transport arrangements, luggage storage and guests are welcome to make use of our business centre which offers internet, printing and fax facilities. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.Coastlands Musgrave Hotel welcomes you to Durban, and invites you to explore and experience our beautiful province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Coastlands Musgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlands On The Ridge Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing