We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY OVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Unforgettable 4 day stay over with the friendliest hostess, gorgeous breakfasts and adorable rooms. The close proximity to the city and nearby shops should make this a wonderful first choice for all business and holiday travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RiaanSteenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

An excellent experience bar none with a warm welcome. Our hostess, Thea went out of her way to make us feel at home. Highly recommended for both business and leisure travel while in Durban. Well located with excellent rooms, mthat have every amenity needed, with comfortable beds and great bathrooms. Wonderful breakfast served in the mornings which are hearty and tasty which will keep you going for the day. The service was top notch and can not be matched in my experience. Make Sparkling Star a must on your next visit to Durban. Wonderful trip and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A lovely B&B which feels like home away from home (except without all the work you have to do at home!). Thea is a warm and welcoming hostess who goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable. Comfy beds, well equipped rooms, and a hearty breakfast are some of the things you can expect. I have stayed for business twice now, for a few nights each time, and I will definitely keep staying there when Im in Durban.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Well where do I start, this B & B has everything to offer, from home made cooking to a warm welcome all year round. The venue is ideal for both leisure and business travel - as with this close proximity you can travel anywhere without travelling miles. Close to restaurants, Woollies and a art centre, that provides light lunches.
As for the breakfasts, you have more than you can choose from, ranging from cheeses, biscuits, fresh fruit cut daily and the yummy breakfast of a traditional breakfast, that will satisfy you until dinner.

Make this your next stop, when next in Durban.

Thank you for the wonderful stay and will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: the green one is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We would reccommend Sparkling Star Guest House to anybody who is looking for an effiecient and friendly place to stay in Durban. The location is central and the rates are very reasonable. The staff are warm and friendly with the rooms beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious with such a great variety to choose from, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese and biscuits, muffins and a cooked breakfast or an omlette with the smell of fresh coffee brewing in the dining area. we have stayed several times and will continue to do so. Thanks for your great hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2013L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The worst experience I've had at a bnb in Durban.

A multi-racial group of us stayed at this bnb. The woman who owns it kept on referring to all the white people in the group by name, but referred to all the black people in the group as 'You!' or "what's your name again?" It was surreal! then she ranted about how the new South Africa is a joke because the blacks can't get anything right. It was unbelievable!!! The service was average, and we were not served any decent cheese while there for breakfast. Instead we got that (yuck) processed sweet cheese.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Accueil dynamique du couple et pro et trés accueillant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thea G, Owner at Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Roseland House
Roseland House
#10 of 256 in Durban
95 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tamarisk Bed and Breakfast
Tamarisk Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 256 in Durban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oliveroom B&B
Oliveroom B&B
#1 of 2 in Berea
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackaya Bella Guest House
0.7 mi away
Bali on the Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast

Address: 70 Z K Mathews Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £54 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious old Victorian home was built in the 1920's and offer great ambience and atmosphere with its special architectural design and old gleaming Oregon pine floors. The smell of freshly brewed coffee will invite you to relax on the patio or in the garden. Sparkling Star Guest House is situated in the heart of Glenwood, close to the University of Natal, St. Augustine's and Entabeni Hospital and an easy drive away from the CBD and Durban's beaches. The guest house has many facilities that cater for both the travelling business person and holidaymaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing