We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like a home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 254 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just like a home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I was down in Durban for an exam and stayed in Sparkling Star for almost a month. It felt like home. The centralized location made it very easy for me to access different places conveniently. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The owners make sure they do everything to make you feel comfortable. And it's not just the comfortable rooms, but also the food is delicious! I always enjoyed the smell of freshly brewed coffee and home made muffins and scones with some delicious omlettes :) must must recommended!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Nida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
6
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the bnb. Was there for my exam, felt very welcomed and safe. Will never forget the freshly baked savoury muffins, think I will be booking again very soon.




welcome and safe. Thea is a great hostess, if you l

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomkazi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for business in October and enjoyed our stay. My husband and assistant had to leave early in the morning, too early to have breakfast.
This was no problem breakfast was packed for them so that they did not have to go hungry.
Breakfast for me was ready at 8 o'clock and was plenty full.
I enjoyed sitting in the garden, but the weather was not so nice.
Television gave a variety of channels, so there was always something inviting to watch.
We were made very welcome when we arrived after searching for the place. This is the problem in Durban due to the name changes. We now have the address on our GPS so next time we will have no problem.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs double room with the little patio which was very secure and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenRichardsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

The whole experience was wonderful from arriving in the rain, and having Thea, (owner and manager) run out to meet me to the wonderful breakfast and chat before I left. The house is quaint, and comfortable, with loads of space, relaxing bathrooms, and a warm cosy common area. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Yentl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtunzini, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Sparking Star offered far more than I expected. From the prompt response to my enquiry, to assisting me when I arrived ( I had just undergone an operation ) I was not only made to feel welcome but also so comfortable in a private flatlet which is tastefully decorated and spacious. I felt I had the privacy I required, but at the same time they looked after me and made sure I had everything I needed, including meals when they knew I could not manage. The guesthouse is in a very central area and it is safe to walk to close shopping centres or catch taxi's as it is easily accessable. Plenty of privacy and lovely linen, an enormous breakfast and freshly brewed coffee - I will certainly make use of it again.Thank you Thea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stampriet, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Spotlessly clean.
Close proximity to city centre.
Free WiFi.
Free garage.
Amazing breakfast.
We stayed here for 4 days during the 2013 Academy Week. It is walking distance from Glenwood High. Thea the hostess is a peoples person who went the extra mile in making sure we were comfortable & well looked after.
……..and the breakfast!
10 out of 10

Room Tip: The WiFi reception is the best close to the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kobus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keetmanshoop, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Unforgettable 4 day stay over with the friendliest hostess, gorgeous breakfasts and adorable rooms. The close proximity to the city and nearby shops should make this a wonderful first choice for all business and holiday travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiaanSteenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
An Upper Room
An Upper Room
#4 of 254 in Durban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.3 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Centre Court B&B
Centre Court B&B
#19 of 254 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roseland House
Roseland House
#13 of 254 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ridgeview Lodge
Ridgeview Lodge
#15 of 254 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast
Address: 70 Z K Mathews Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious old Victorian home was built in the 1920's and offer great ambience and atmosphere with its special architectural design and old gleaming Oregon pine floors. The smell of freshly brewed coffee will invite you to relax on the patio or in the garden. Sparkling Star Guest House is situated in the heart of Glenwood, close to the University of Natal, St. Augustine's and Entabeni Hospital and an easy drive away from the CBD and Durban's beaches. The guest house has many facilities that cater for both the travelling business person and holidaymaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sparkling Star Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing