We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Guest House
Ranked #13 of 261 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed at The Grange in the suite in early September - modern, spacious and clean - with a view to the ocean from the front room as well! Annelie and her staff were perfect - just the right amount of attention to guests - and ready to help when needed. The house is beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated. Great breakfast selection too - even for vegetarians! Easy to find, close to good cafes. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Suite has view of ocean, some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annalagos, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope to see you in Durban again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent 9 nights at The Grange in Sept 2012 - we were welcomed and made to feel at home as we walked into the house, What a great Brie Annalie did for our group on the Saturday evening, nothin was too much trouble.
The rooms are clean and the bed was soooo comfortable. Breakfasts are incredible, the staff exceptional.
If your planning a trip to Durban this is a must to stay - a fantastic experience - thanks Annalie
Randy & Glenys Perth WA Australia

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annalagos, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having the group stay with us, The Grange was a very joyful place with lots of positive energy while you were all here. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My friends and I stayed 2 nights in early September at The Grange and could not have been happier. A stunning property with comfy beds a great bathroom and breakfast was excellent. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was perfect for our needs. Annalie and her staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. I would definitely stay there again and recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VixKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Annalie and her staff are so helpful, nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had a great stay. The rooms were lovely - we had booked a twin room but my my daughter and my aunt were delighted to find that they had a suite of two rooms. Our room had a terrace and the most sumptuos bathroom - just perfect! Breakfast on the patio was excellent.

During our 2 night stay (we wish it had been longer!) Annalie also provided a fantastic brai and buffet so we could host a surprise party while we were staying at the Grange. Our 18 guests thoroughly enjoyed the Grange hospitality, loved the food and the whole occasion was just what we had hoped it would be.

Thanks Annalie! we cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annalagos, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for your review and entrusting me with your Aunts event, everyone kept a very good secret right till the end! It was a pleasure cooking for you all and I do hope you return one day...for longer next time.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it really does mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Synopsis (Overall + Value)
We were looking for somewhere a bit more fancy to stay and loved this place! Absolutely spotless and white, big comfy beds, an amazing bathroom, good breakfast, parking and decent location. No complaints at all, wished we could have stayed longer than one night.

Location
In our rental car this place was 15minutes from the airport and probably 5 or 10 minutes from the town centre. Fairly posh road with a narrow driveway, but it's nice inside.

Hotel Room
Really nice, with decent sized rooms, REALLY fluffy and comfortable beds, a tv, rugs, hair dryer, table, chair, bedside lamps etc. The bathroom was spectacular! Spacious with a shower/bathtub combo. The only issue was the water kept building up in the bathrub, but we let housekeeping know so it should be sorted now.

Bed
Comfortable and big. Great night's rest.

Staff
Helpful and friendly. They pressed our shirts on the morning of our departure which was much appreciated. The dog is cute and friendly, it doesn't bite.

Internet/Wifi
Great wifi - fast speeds with good signal right into the rooms.

Breakfast
Eggs, toasts, cereals, fruit, juices and teas. Nice room to eat the breakfast in too.

Other
Parking space for a couple of cars available. They were happy for us to check out a little late as we had a flight to catch later and nobody had booked our room after us. Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Narmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annalagos, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review we really appreciate it and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Myself, my wife & our son were fortunate to enjoy staying at The Grange on Fri 31st Aug. We needed a late arrival, with an early breakfast. We needed two rooms, which were adjoining. Our flight was delayed, but Jabu the Supervisor was waiting when we arrived at 23h45. A great family suite and a superb breakfast. We will certainly be back!!!!
"Clayton Family"

Room Tip: Front rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annalagos, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you family Clayton, I just hope the airlines are more co-operative next time you visit Durbs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This B&B is in a big luxurious villa with very nice big modern rooms. Everything is very clean, and the staff is nice. Our room had a door to the terasse so we could just sit outside on the terrace in the evening.
The breakfast was good. The B&B is not located in the city center, but it was very easy (and quick) to drive there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,558 reviews
4 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
456 reviews
4.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
41 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#99 of 261 in Durban
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guest House

Address: 1 Monteith Place, Durban 4051, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £60 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Guest House is a gracious 1950's three story mansion situated in the leafy suburb of upper Durban North. Completely renovated in 2010, The Grange offers relaxed luxury with a mixture of old world and modern furnishings, the bathrooms are state of the art with frameless glass showers and suspended Italian basins and toilets. Very modern and sleek.All beds are extra long with quality percale sheets, extra large pillows and duvets.Broadway shopping area is 500m down the road and offers a wide selection of restaurants and fast food eateries amongst other services, all within walking distance. The Grange offers queen and deluxe king/twin bedrooms suiting the corporate or leisure traveller. Families are also catered for in two family rooms, children of all ages are welcomed and catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing