We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Guest House
Ranked #8 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting, bit noisy”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This BnB is well appointed and comforable. The room we had wasn't really ideal for anyone wishing to sleep in though as, being set in an old house, noice carries and you hear breakfast preparations from about 0700 onwards. Breakfast itself was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
48
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Fabulous Guest House. We had a very great time there between Christmas and New Year 2013. The owner Mutari was so kind and his staff as well. Thank you for the delicious coffee every morning. Mutari supports our fantastic BBQ at his pool at christmas. We had a lot of fun with the dog Dube (see the posted picture). Mutari gave us great advice for resturants and sightseeing. We would be very happy to stay there again on our next trip through the overwhelming country South Africa.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor. These are very good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Grange is in a very peaceful attractive part of North Durban and is in a quiet street. The reception areas are huge and attractive and the swimming pool is large and excellent. Our room was huge with a wonderful private terrace overlooking the ocean on which there was a table and chairs where we had evening drinks. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large and luxurious with an excellent shower and bath. There are several restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance. The owner is very pleasant and helpful but very busy and has less time available for advice and interaction than is often the case for owners in other South African Guest Houses. Overall a good venue to stay at in Durban and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent four nights at The Grange Guesthouse while my son competed in a Chess Competition in Durban. What a warm, wonderful and welcoming atmosphere! Mutari was an incredible host and we all so enjoyed Dube, the charming dog. Breakfasts on the patio overlooking the peaceful garden were scrumptious. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and we loved the collection of art in the Guesthouse. There are a number of great restaurants nearby and the Guesthouse is an easy drive to the main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and had a wonderful stay. Mutali was very helpful and provided us with wonderful breakfasts and knowledge of the city. We had booked the cottage to stay in but we did not realise it did not have air con so he moved us into the deluxe room on the first floor no extra charge. That is the room I would stay in with your own astro turf patio to sit and enjoy a beer watching the sun go down over the ocean. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just loved our stay at The Grange. We were welcomed with great smiles and interesting tips for touring Durban. This atmosphere made us feel at home and we'll definitely come back. The room was spacious, super clean, with beautiful view on the ocean and the garden.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine75Abidjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

One of the best guest houses I've ever been. The room was awesome and comparable to a 5 star hotel. The breakfast also was excellent. The guest house also offers a pool and secure parking. Note that there is a dog (as in almost all houses in South Africa).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,430 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.8 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#7 of 255 in Durban
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guest House

Property: The Grange Guest House
Address: 1 Monteith Place, Durban 4051, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Guest House is a gracious 1950's three story mansion situated in the leafy suburb of upper Durban North. Completely renovated in 2010, The Grange offers relaxed luxury with a mixture of old world and modern furnishings, the bathrooms are state of the art with frameless glass showers and suspended Italian basins and toilets. Very modern and sleek.All beds are extra long with quality percale sheets, extra large pillows and duvets.Broadway shopping area is 500m down the road and offers a wide selection of restaurants and fast food eateries amongst other services, all within walking distance. The Grange offers queen and deluxe king/twin bedrooms suiting the corporate or leisure traveller. Families are also catered for in two family rooms, children of all ages are welcomed and catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing