We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Guest House
Ranked #8 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a great stay at The Grange Guest House.The staff was helpful and friendly.The place is beautiful and clean. The food is good as well and fresh every morning.You can eat as much as you want,too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nompumelelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
48
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Charming small guesthouse close to Durban city. Very nice staff. Nice rooms with comfortable beds. The Grange gave a feeling of coming to a luxerius living to a reasonable price. We can really recommend this guesthouse.
Helen and Lennart Jonsson

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The Guest house is beautiful,clean and safe. We had a great stay for the weekend and the staff is so nice and helpful there...Zodwa,Krishna and Jabu fabulous ladies who didn't mind assisting and advising us in regards to places we should visit before coming back to Jozi!!
We had an awesome weekend and their breakfast was served on time and always fresh...how can we forget Dube the dog very friendly as well.
Thanks a million ladies till next time Fani & Mpumi Setlhogomi (Soweto-GP)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mpumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This BnB is well appointed and comforable. The room we had wasn't really ideal for anyone wishing to sleep in though as, being set in an old house, noice carries and you hear breakfast preparations from about 0700 onwards. Breakfast itself was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Fabulous Guest House. We had a very great time there between Christmas and New Year 2013. The owner Mutari was so kind and his staff as well. Thank you for the delicious coffee every morning. Mutari supports our fantastic BBQ at his pool at christmas. We had a lot of fun with the dog Dube (see the posted picture). Mutari gave us great advice for resturants and sightseeing. We would be very happy to stay there again on our next trip through the overwhelming country South Africa.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor. These are very good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Grange is in a very peaceful attractive part of North Durban and is in a quiet street. The reception areas are huge and attractive and the swimming pool is large and excellent. Our room was huge with a wonderful private terrace overlooking the ocean on which there was a table and chairs where we had evening drinks. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large and luxurious with an excellent shower and bath. There are several restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance. The owner is very pleasant and helpful but very busy and has less time available for advice and interaction than is often the case for owners in other South African Guest Houses. Overall a good venue to stay at in Durban and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent four nights at The Grange Guesthouse while my son competed in a Chess Competition in Durban. What a warm, wonderful and welcoming atmosphere! Mutari was an incredible host and we all so enjoyed Dube, the charming dog. Breakfasts on the patio overlooking the peaceful garden were scrumptious. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and we loved the collection of art in the Guesthouse. There are a number of great restaurants nearby and the Guesthouse is an easy drive to the main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.8 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#7 of 255 in Durban
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guest House

Property: The Grange Guest House
Address: 1 Monteith Place, Durban 4051, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Guest House is a gracious 1950's three story mansion situated in the leafy suburb of upper Durban North. Completely renovated in 2010, The Grange offers relaxed luxury with a mixture of old world and modern furnishings, the bathrooms are state of the art with frameless glass showers and suspended Italian basins and toilets. Very modern and sleek.All beds are extra long with quality percale sheets, extra large pillows and duvets.Broadway shopping area is 500m down the road and offers a wide selection of restaurants and fast food eateries amongst other services, all within walking distance. The Grange offers queen and deluxe king/twin bedrooms suiting the corporate or leisure traveller. Families are also catered for in two family rooms, children of all ages are welcomed and catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing