We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful rooms"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Guest House
Ranked #12 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went to Durban for Comrades marathon 2014 and stayed at The Grange B&B. what a pleasant stay. The manager Trish was so nice, together with her staff they made our stay awesome. Thanks a lot for all the trouble you went through for us( preparing the breakfast for us at 2:00am so that we can have something to eat before the Great race...by the way we were three guys that stayed at this establishment that went for the comrades. The bedrooms are to die for especially after the race.Thanks once again. Sam & Nkaki- Secunda

Room Tip: the upper rooms have steep stairs, enquire before hand where your room will be located especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 750Sam707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Grange is a wonderful guest house close to the airport however it is in a beautiful garden setting with close proximity to the northern beach area and great restaurants. Management were fantastic so helpful and we had a beautiful breakfast with lovely fresh coffee muffins to die for. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nerida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hi there,
My girlfriend and I had the privilege of spending a couple of nights at your guesthouse at the end of April. I wish to convey our gratitude and absolute satisfaction with our stay with you - your staff were very warm and welcoming, not to mention that adorable dog, Dube (we really should have taken her back to Jo'burg)!☺
We are further grateful for the upgrade to the room on the upper level with a balcony; we were able to spend some time in the mornings to appreciate the distant views of the ocean - quite peaceful.
The only regret? We would have loved to have stayed longer!
We hope to see you again sometime in the future!
Thank you and warm regards,
Denis & Olga"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenisK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a great stay at The Grange Guest House.The staff was helpful and friendly.The place is beautiful and clean. The food is good as well and fresh every morning.You can eat as much as you want,too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nompumelelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Charming small guesthouse close to Durban city. Very nice staff. Nice rooms with comfortable beds. The Grange gave a feeling of coming to a luxerius living to a reasonable price. We can really recommend this guesthouse.
Helen and Lennart Jonsson

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The Guest house is beautiful,clean and safe. We had a great stay for the weekend and the staff is so nice and helpful there...Zodwa,Krishna and Jabu fabulous ladies who didn't mind assisting and advising us in regards to places we should visit before coming back to Jozi!!
We had an awesome weekend and their breakfast was served on time and always fresh...how can we forget Dube the dog very friendly as well.
Thanks a million ladies till next time Fani & Mpumi Setlhogomi (Soweto-GP)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mpumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This BnB is well appointed and comforable. The room we had wasn't really ideal for anyone wishing to sleep in though as, being set in an old house, noice carries and you hear breakfast preparations from about 0700 onwards. Breakfast itself was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steve_6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,481 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
4.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
5.1 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#76 of 256 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guest House

Address: 1 Monteith Place, Durban 4051, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Guest House is a gracious 1950's three story mansion situated in the leafy suburb of upper Durban North. Completely renovated in 2010, The Grange offers relaxed luxury with a mixture of old world and modern furnishings, the bathrooms are state of the art with frameless glass showers and suspended Italian basins and toilets. Very modern and sleek.All beds are extra long with quality percale sheets, extra large pillows and duvets.Broadway shopping area is 500m down the road and offers a wide selection of restaurants and fast food eateries amongst other services, all within walking distance. The Grange offers queen and deluxe king/twin bedrooms suiting the corporate or leisure traveller. Families are also catered for in two family rooms, children of all ages are welcomed and catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing