We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mackaya Bella Guest House
Ranked #4 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back for more!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After bringing a team of ten visitors to Mackaya Bella for five nights in March 2013, I returned with a team of six for five nights in March 2014. What a pleasure! Louise and her staff saw to wonderful breakfasts for us, including a boxed snack when we had early road-travel. The grounds were as quiet as previously (easy to sleep at night), the pool fantastic, the rooms and shared areas clean as could be, bathrooms comfortable. Air-conditioning in the main building was excellent, and some on my time enjoyed the added privacy of the unairconditioned room adjacent to the pool (equipped with fans). The grounds have a secured fence, and the locale is rather close to the university, which was of prime importance to us. I’m submitting some photos from the trip, including some panoramics that I hope show properly in the viewer. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: Just mention whether you seek air conditioning or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
17
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Jon and Louise were wonderful hosts. Room & bathroom were spacious and clean. Good wifi, kitchen and lounge area. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained with a swimming pool. Breakfasts were great too! Louise and Jon were very helpful with advice before getting there and while staying there too. Felt very safe there throughout my stay. By the end of the three months they knew my habits very well, which made their hospitality that extra special! I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to returning! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadia311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The rooms were lovely and clean and contained all the things you need for a pleasant stay. There was a great laundry (really helpful when you've been on the road awhile) and the Wi-Fi was excellent. Our breakfasts on the veranda were delicious and Jon and Louise were delightful, friendly and helpful hosts. The house and gardens were also pleasant and located in a safe, quiet area of Durban within walking distance of the University. They also had off street parking for our hire cars. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the large bedroom at the front of the house - very spacious and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SallyJean53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenvale
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The warm welcome we received upon arrival at this charming guesthouse was a breath of fresh air! Louise and John went out of their way to assist us with additional arrangements to make our visit to Durban a very special one. I highly recommend this guesthouse to any traveler.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaninaHarmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I felt that the management at Mackaya Bella took care to look after my needs and to make my stay in Durban secure. The breakfasts were excellent and the service unobtrusive and full. A delightful indigenous garden and a relaxing salt water pool helped to make my stay enjoyable. .

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JayJay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I needed overnight accommodation and the wonderful owners booked in into the small self catering flat. On arrival I found they had upgraded me to a beautiful, luxurious room! The room was spotless with all the extras I could imagine; kettle, alarm clock and fridge! The property is lovely and clean, in a safe area. Although I did not stay for breakfast it certainly smelt good! Definitely on my list should I need another overnight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My four night stay Mackaya Bella was blissful. The small garden surrounding the charming house adds to a feeling of seclusion. The vibe is quiet, relaxed and comfortable. Louise made me feel immediately at home - instant contentment. My room had everything I needed - wireless connection was good. Breakfast on the deck was delicious. Good location in an established gracious area with really nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Flat at the pool was private and had its own kichenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
3.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
4.3 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Westville
236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#5 of 255 in Durban
257 reviews
8.5 mi away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#3 of 255 in Durban
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackaya Bella Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackaya Bella Guest House

Property: Mackaya Bella Guest House
Address: 137 Penzance Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackaya Bella Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star, modern and environmentally friendly guest house serving bed and breakfast. Located in Glenwood, Durban, overlooking a tranquil park, we are known for our friendly hospitality, comfortable rooms, tasty breakfasts and indigenous garden. Local and international guests, business people, tourists, academics and visitors are all welcome. We have 6 en-suite double rooms with TV, wi-fi, study desk plus all necessary amenities and 1 large, self-catering unit with its own kitchen, bathroom and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mackaya Bella Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing