We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mackaya Bella Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$218
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$89
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
110
36
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
36
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget roomhome away from homehelpful in every waygreat hostsoff street parkingfriendly place to stayquiet neighborhoodfelt like homestay there againkwazulu natalroom was spaciouswonderful staysmall fridgebreakfast was amazingawesome servicethanks guysbusiness or pleasure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Louise, Jon, Phamzile, Brenda, and Constance know how to make you feel at home. This is my favorite place to stay in Durban. It's walking distance from the fabulous Phansi Museum, Parc Cafe and Glenwood bakery. They treat you well and make arrangements seem easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank syclark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I really can't recommend Mackaya Bella Guest House enough. Lovely comfortable room and breakfast was delicious. The owners went out of their way for us and I left feeling rested, despite having worked hard that weekend.Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at Mackaya Bella for a week while attending a workshop in Durban. Louise was an incredible host, going out of her way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
The guest house itself is lovely and the rooms are very comfortable. We really enjoyed the breakfasts at Mackaya Bella and were very impressed at the way that Louise was able to cater for a variety of special dietary needs. The staff were all helpful and friendly and we were all very sad to have to leave when our trip was over. I would definitely recommend Mackaya Bella as a great place to stay in Durban!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice, but the downstairs rooms are more private and quieter for light sleepers.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polkabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Even after several stays at Mackaya Bella I'm still surprised to meet interesting and varied guests from all over who occupy the rooms and really settle there and live there in a joyful home. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WIDRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was a nice experience to stay here. The hospitality was very good and warm.
The breakfast is nice. I would recommend people to stay in this guest house.
The place is near the sea, may be just a few kilometers away. A perfect place to stay for couples. I enjoyed it.



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunandan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews