We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay but Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace All Suites
East London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short Stay but Great”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed over the weekend in September 2013. Was extremely impressed with The Palace. The rooms are first class and although we didn't have a sea view were not fussed because the beach is across the road from the entrance.
We enjoyed the extensive facilities and services including their fine restaurant. The roof offers a delightful play area for the guests where they have a braai (barbecue) on certain evenings.
Altogether a memorable stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    44
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
52
36
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous resort! Great accommodation and amazing views from the 17th floor. Staff so helpful and friendly.

Not wanting to eat in the resort every night we ventured out on the Marine Parade to find a restaurant! What a disaster - beggars and vagrants hassling you. When finding a restaurant - Ocean Basket - we were disappointed at it was Muslim owned and therefore we could not even have wine or beer with our food!!! Same thing happened two nights later around the corner. Be aware that to have dinner with wine/alcohol. You will have to venture out by car at night!!!! Also DO NOT use the Spa at the resort until they have finished their renovations!!! I had a 2 hour expensive treatment and it was a NIGHTMARE due to the noise!!l

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent a week in Durban staying in an apartment at the Palace Resort on O R Tambo Parade. The apartment consisted of two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sitting room/ dining room and a small kitchen. There was ample room for two couples. We faced the sea and had glorious views of sun rises and people swimming and surfing. The hotel has a dining room and also a bar. We were within easy walking distance of several restaurants and other eating places. Every day we walked across the road and swam in clean warm sea . There were plenty of other attractions up and down the golden mile , as the beach is called. Altogether this was good value and an ideal place to stay. Safe parking is available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

After my Parents staying here for over 20 years, by coincidence having staied at a particular flat, they always chose the same flat nr....Although Dad passed over 10 years ago, Mom loves to go back, to the same flat as it is their home away from home.
Although some faces change through the years, like general managers, or recepcionists, there are others who remain like the good old man Thomas that we were so happy to see him again this year in good health, or Lucky, Sandra, just to name a few. Security has improved, very happy to note. EVERYONE in The Palace matters and all of you are Family to us.
It's good to see a well deserved revamp to some units and looking forward to see "Mom & Dad's" unit redone! The best to one and all of you!

Room Tip: The ones with ocean view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the palace first time and id say the hotel, room, staff were all excellent. The rooms were very nice done up recently, comfortable, spacious and the kitchen was well stocked. The views from the top floors are spectacular. In the lobby by the lift bit of a stink not sure why no ventilalation of any sort. We paid for parking undercover but there seemed to be not enough parking space. The activity guide for the kids said a few activities scheduled but when we get to the fifth floor they not ready for the kids the excuse being its only two or three kids and its off peak etc so we unable to do the activities and they didnt get the necessary things to do the crafts.dont advertise it in the activty guide if you cant keep upto your word as the kids looking forward to doing something we've been to many resorts and this is the first time we heard such a feeble excuse. The kids were quite bored and limited activity for them besides the coloring books

Room Tip: High floor good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This will be my last time I will stay at this resort. It supposed to be renovated but the televisions does not work. The 4 sleeper rooms are very cramped and no space to walk in the room. Had to wait 30min for a porter to help carry our luggage from the car to our room. Eventually I carried myself. Unfriendly staff. Overall dont recommend this hotel to any family or friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mogti4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great service at the front desk, and an excellent location, right on Durban's golden mile. The suites are great and completely equipped for self-catering.

I wouldn't bother with the spa the next time around - not very relaxing when you can hear the bingo game while you're having your massage.

The units have been redone - and the master shower was so well sealed that it smelled a little musty. Easy to remedy by propping the door open.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moniera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Palace All Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace All Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace All Suites

Property: The Palace All Suites
Address: 211 O.R. Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace All Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Durban's Golden Mile, just 35km from King Shaka International Airport, the Palace Resort and Spa comprises 76 high-rise luxury apartments, all with magnificent sea views. The onsite restaurants offer light meals, Mediterranean cuisine and room service, while a swimming pool and world-class Wellness Centre, Jacuzzi and steam room complete your luxury holiday. The Palace is a great getaway for relaxing, soaking up the sun and enjoying fun-filled activities. Mild weather and the warmth of the Indian Ocean make Durban an attractive holiday destination all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace All Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing