We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service Over-rated Food”

Julio's Continental
Ranked #59 of 600 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service Over-rated Food”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We made a reservation last night , when we got there there were two empty tables inside and since it was raining and cold we asked if we could sit inside as opposed to the outside where they allocated us. We were told the tables were reserved even though the restaurant was not very busy so we graciously sat outside. It was noisy with the patrons and the loud 80's music so we moved to the door and then the bar eventually. Our starter , a prawn rissiols took 20mins to be served and the main came about 45 after the starter was taken from us. The prawns, which we heard so much about were steamed and just thrown into garlic lemon butter. Absolutely tasteless! For that long wait , not once did our waitress ask us if all was ok, we never got a visit from the floor manager , which even a Spur manager does! Utterly disappointed!! Won't recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for what it is!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

If you feel like really good Portuguese style food at really good prices and you don't mind too much about decor - this is the place to go - don't expect white linen table cloths and crystal - the food is consistently good - which is why this restaurant is a local favourite.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wonderful hidden gem!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place has been around forever, they do probably one of the best peri peri chickens and calamari to die for. Lamb shanks and Eisbeins (when you lucky enough to be in time to grab them) are also out of this world. With warm friendly staff and a wonderful hands on owner, one is always made to feel part of the family!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokstad
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun evening”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Julio's, the food was excellent and our waiter kept us entertained with his witty comments and broad smile!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All I can say is that if you want the best peri peri chicken in durbs , julio's is the place”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Unbelievably a genuine all rounder of good meals at a good price.Eveything is great on the menu...Anyone in durban or around glenwood should at least give it a try .... You won't be dissapointed at all.:)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank similtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julio's Continental also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Julio's Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing