We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #149 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were taken to a pink room away from the main house. On entering the house, a musty smell greeted us at the door. Further to this, the kitchen skirtings seems like it is infested with wood borer. The owner informed us that breakfast is served between 9 and 11am. To our disappointment, the owner told us the next morning that we were late for breakfast yet we were within the time scheduled for breakfast. The hospitality and service of this bed and breakfast is very poor. We felt as if we were not welcome here. I will never recommend Sr Harveys to my family or friends. My worst experience...never to be repeated again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashikanundkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Booked this place last minute before flying out of Durban, but wished we could stay longer! We stayed in the blue room which, as other reviews have mentioned, didn't have a door between the bathroom and bedroom, but whatever! The room was beautiful, well appointed and clean. Had an excellent breakfast on the terrace before heading out, but really wish we could've stayed to hang out by the pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrideChilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stylish and very comfortable with everything you possibly need. The bedroom is sumptuous and great care has gone into the whole experience. Good breakfast too. Pity the TV system is limited and old fashioned; would have liked wi-fi too to be complete.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My name is E. L. from Greece and on 11th December 2012 I made a reservation for 1 night at Sir Harveys B&B through booking.com for 26th December 2012. I sent them ( at hotel and booking.com) mail, where I informed them that, we will arrive at 7pm after a long and difficult journey from Maseru via Sani Pass. When we arrived on 26th December, at 7pm, we found a lady, who told us that there is no available room for us due overbooking and we must go to sleep to another accommodation and the next day to return for the breakfast. When I asked her if, the other accommodation would provide to us the same facilities, she was not sure about and she proposed to us to wait for the owner (he was out of the town) by drinking complimentary drinks. We had just arrived after 12 hours driving, we had made the reservation 2,5 months ago, and the lady told us to wait by drinking for free!!!!!! And I am wondering??? How is possible to there is overbooking in an accommodation with only 5 rooms?? And, if, so, how the owner decide to send us and NO other client in another accommodation?? And, if, so, why I must respect booking.com and the owner of Sir Harveys??? I felt very disappointed and I left. The result: for 3 hours I was looking for available room in Durban, where there was almost a million visitors for Christmas. I think that was unacceptable for Sir Harveys and for booking.com. Both of them had the obligation to respect my reservation. After all that, the owner of Sir Harveys decided not to charge me for cancellation and booking.com not to punish Sir Harveys. Since I found accommodation in the same price, so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

A superbly decorated home from home, with spectacular personal touches. Our room, the Savoy, had a luxurious slipper bath, robes, exquisite body lotions, all decanted into exquisite cut glass containers. Beautiful perfumes waft around the dining areas and outdoor seating areas are beautifully lit at night by the mesmerising light of what seems, 100 candles. Beautifully maintained rose gardens ease the eye towards the lovely pool and pergolas. Breakfast - seeing is believing - a 5 star breakfast - freshest of fresh fruit salads, muffins, english breakfast, all served with finesse and wonderful smiles. Sonja, the owner is a gracious hostess and her attention to the minutest detail was well observed. Well dressed staff always on hand to gladly assist you. I felt like I was on a 5 star safari - yet we were 2 minutes from a fabulous restaurant and 8 minutes from a lovely shopping centre. Nothing more to say than - don't miss out on this one!!!!

Room Tip: ask Sonja Jarvis - she'll give the best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamarachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreto25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#77 of 256 in Durban
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roseland House
Roseland House
#10 of 256 in Durban
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 256 in Durban
16 reviews
2.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
4.9 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Westville
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast

Address: 242 JB Marks Road | Glenwood, Durban 4022, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: £49 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Harvey's offers luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a leafy suburb. Sir Harvey's is conveniently close to the beach, the city centre, the university and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing