We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
An Upper Room
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
124
34
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
34
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homenice breakfastfriendly hostsgreat place to staythree nightsclean roomsedithleonaccommodationaurcomfortexamsa
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Edith is a wonderful host and made us feel "at home" in her lovely guesthouse. Upper-Room-b+b is situated in a lush garden suburb - the yummy breakfast is served near the poolside. We would love to come back and stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juhudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we pride ourselves in the service we give to all our guest. It was lovely having you and look forward to meeting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely B&B i've ever been to, clean and neat place. the Host are very loving.
And a magical Breakfast. 110% satisfied. the location is very quite and close to food courts.
air conditioned rooms and a nice pool.. value for money indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince_Gape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We loved having you and your family stay with us and appreciate your review. It is wonderful when guests appreciate our establishment as we are very proud of B&B. Looking forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I recently spent some time at the Upper room with my parents and was instantly overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere. Both staff and owners are warm, considerate and always eager to go the extra mile in ensuring their guests comfort.

It was a pleasant escape in a beautiful setting!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corinnavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Corinna,
It was such a pleasure having you with your parents stay. Glad you enjoyed our establishment. We like to keep the standard our guests are used to. Look forward to your return visit one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I could not be happier with my stay! My room was fantastic, the food was wonderful, but most importantly, Edith and Leon were simply the best hosts! As a woman traveling on my own for a couple of weeks, it was so good to know that they were watching out for me. They are fantastic people who clearly care about the people who come to stay with them. Connie and the other housekeepers were amazing too- everyone was just so friendly, and I couldn't be more thankful for that. I'll definitely be back if/when I come back to Durban.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frances V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Francis,
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so happy when our guests appreciate all we do. We appreciate the lovely reviews that we receive and strive to keep our standards high to make our guests comfortable and feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Best way to describe my experience is Im not a B&B person but I truly enjoyed this experience. Leon & Edith are wonderful hosts- very lovely people. Connie took great care of us and Bentley the Jack Russell a total delight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Staci, Jenna and Nuriya,
Thank you for the wonderful review, we really appreciate your comments and the fact that you enjoyed staying with us. We loved having the three of you and look forward to having you the next time in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews