We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
An Upper Room
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
124
34
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
34
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhome away from homenice breakfastfriendly hostsgreat place to staythree nightsclean roomsedithleonaccommodationaurcomfortexamsa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and my family never think twice about where we are going to stay when we go to Durban. We are always welcomed with warm hands, treated with respect and like family. My husband runs the comrades and is always touched by the extra length Edith goes to by preparing breakfast for him before the race. It's a truly home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vuyiswa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

It is always a pleasure having you and your family stay whether it is for Comrades or just to spend time with us. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your comments on our establishment, we will always strive to uphold a high standard for our B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I loved the comfort i just wish you had a double. I loved the welcome you get when you arrive the owners are wonderful. The rooms are bright and clean. You can get lovely breakfast, and WiFi is available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

So nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you stay and look forward to having you stay again. It gives us great pleasure seeing guests enjoying their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Absolutely amazed by the Orchids (or whatever you call them)! Well appointed rooms. As mentioned, the shower rose has a leak but I'm sure it's fixed by now. Could happily have stayed for another few nights!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, it gives us great pleasure knowing our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a really enjoyable family stay at An Upper Room. It's a lovely, welcoming, well maintained place, very child friendly, a nice pool for the kids and a fabulous buffet breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Finn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and always look forward to your return. Thanks for your kind words. I gives us great pleasure when we know our guests enjoy our amenities. Look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I really felt comfortable in this B&B. The hosts were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and the view lovely. The breakfast was the best I have had so far at a B&B in Durban. Highly recommend, thank you Edith and Leon for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqui_dK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

It was lovely having you stay with us thank you for the wonderful review. We love making our guest comfortable and for them to enjoy their stay. Its nice to know that it is appreciated. Will continue doing our best for our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews