We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprise in Durban”
Review of Villa La Palma

Villa La Palma
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Palma
Ranked #20 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Suprise in Durban”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Lovely apartment with all the trims. Better value than a hotel. The breakfast is nice. Location is excellent and a few steps from lovely restaurants in Glenwood. Easy access to major attractions. Definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannelie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here May 2013 for a week and couldn't have been happier. Bruce and the guys couldn't have been more helpful, not least Bruce getting up to see us off for a race we were doing at 4am on a sunday morning! Not many hosts would do that. It was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you could possibly need such as cooking facilities, washing machine and even an 'office area' with free internet. Breakfast was also great. Location is a little out of the centre of town, but this is no bad thing. Durban is great, but as with many SA cities the cente of town is not necessarily the best place to be in terms of what's happening and safety. As it was we had some of the cities recommended restaurants and coffee shop right on the doorstep. Depending where you need to be I'd have no hesitation recommending this place. Certainly better than a hotel and great value for money...

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2 which was great. Can't comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corbo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I was here with a group of friends in March '12. It is a great place for a nice holiday in Durban...quiet,close to some decent eating joints plus close to a supermarket. I think was great value for money as well. We had the whole floor to ourselves. Two superb bedrooms, very clean and comfortable, a living room with TV (if u wanna on vacation), a desktop computer with a free internet connection plus a printer and magazines etc. The kitchen was spacious and equipped with pretty much everything-cooking stuff as well as a washing machine and a dryer. Downstairs in the common area there was a small swimming pool which was clean and was great for just relaxing and drinking-real private so noone bothers you.The breakfast in the morning was a real treat too. And believe me we paid peanuts for all of this. The guy who takes care of this place-Bruce told us that this was the guesthouse of a shipping company and they let it out when there are no sailors around. I think this was a real fanstastic place to stay and relax if you are in Durban. Take my advice-skip the hotels and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahul_gulati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The accomodation was wonderful, more than a home. quite,smart,neat and luxuriuos bedding. loved the colour coordination in the lounge. the kitchen had all equipemnt and utensils u need. Loved the quiteness and conviniency o the place. Above all Bruce is a wonderful host and he gave us all the information we required, how to get into town, cheap mode of transport, areas of interest, shopping for childern wear, wow i have never found such a host. Would definetly stay there if i am in Durban

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaculate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,431 reviews
2.5 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bali on the Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tamarisk Bed and Breakfast
Tamarisk Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 255 in Durban
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musgrave Avenue Guest Lodge
0.7 mi away
Garland Place
Garland Place
#4 of 7 in Berea
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Palma

Property: Villa La Palma
Address: 3 Shuter Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa La Palma 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa La Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing