We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate Game Driving Experience”

Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Durban Day Safaris and Overnight Durban Safari Tours to visit the ‘Big 5’ nature reserves, Drakensberg mountains and the Battlefields of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa We are an owner run specialist Durban Safari “Big 5” and Durban Tour Operator company based near Durban. We have been operating out of Durban since February 2010 and focus our tailor made Durban Safaris and Durban Tours around the Durban and KwaZulu-Natal area of South Africa. Specialists in Nature Tours – Durban Safaris/Drakensberg Mountain Tours, Cultural Zulu Tours and Historical Battlefield Tours departing from Durban City. The main areas our Durban Safaris and Durban Tours are focused around are the ‘Big 5’ Hluhluwe Imfolozi game reserve for Safaris, Drakensberg mountains for hiking and scenic Tours. The Valley of 1000 Hills for Zulu cultural villages/Tours and township Tours as well as Dundee for Battlefield Safari Tours from Durban throughout KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Tim Brown Tours will tailor make a Safari from Durban or Tour from Durban to suit your specific requirements if you cannot find a listed Durban Safari or Durban Tour that meets your requirements. We will collect you from your Hotel in the Durban area and return you there after your Durban Safari or Durban Tour experience. We offer a high level of service and can be flexible with our Durban Day Safaris/Tours and our Durban overnight Safaris/Tours, to ensure that you our valued clients have the best possible experience on your Durban ‘Big 5’ Bush Safari, Drakensberg mountain Tour or Battlefield Historical Tour in and around our beautiful city of Durban, province KwaZulu-Natal and country of South Africa!
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have just finished Tim's spectacular three day safari. In a nutshell exhilarating, thrilling, fascinating, pure perfection! From the moment I started exchanging emails from Australia to the time he dropped us back today Tim has gone above and beyond to ensure everything was perfect.
He ensured everything is seamless and every detail is taken care off. His passion and knowledge bring this beautiful country to life and leaves you with a love in your heart for the majestic creatures great and small. We shared too many special moments to mention but moments that will be life long memories I will treasure......even the elephant trunk almost coming through the window, Lol.We were so impressed we have booked two more tours with him before we leave. If you want impeccable service, astounding depth of knowledge and a genuine love for all he does book with Tim. Worth every cent!

2  Thank Trudyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Trudy

Thanks for the great review. One more tour to go for you and Julie tomorrow to Sani Pass Im sure you will both enjoy it.

regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having previously lived in Durban, I wanted to return to see a few things I hadn't seen before. These included St Lucia Park (iSimangaliso Wetland Park) and the majestic Sani Pass which leads from KZN to the Eastern Highlands of Lesotho. We decided to go through Tim, even though he was slightly more expensive than the other guides I contacted, because he always responded promptly and professionally, nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and he was able to hook me up with other specialists so I could see the Zulu battlefields. As the old adage goes, you get what you pay for, and in Tim Brown Tours' case, this was certainly so. What impressed my wife & I most about Tim was his knowledge, passion and very easy-going nature... he lights up like a kid at Christmas everytime he spotted a bird or animal, and his love for his subject is infectious. Truth be told, Tim is a great ambassador for South Africans, and certainly the type of guy who makes one feel proud to be South African. I can't recommend his tours highly enough.

3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear David and Callan

Thank you for such a sterling review! Im sure one day you will return to the land of your origin and enjoy more amazing areas it can show you.

Best Wishes

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We did Drakensburg day trip on our first day in Durban and enjoyed the mountain views, hike and rock paintings. After running Comrades we did the 3 day safari and it was great. On the first day we saw lots of elephants, buffalo, zebra, rhinos incredibly close up. the rhinos and elephants put on a great show. On the second day that we were delighted to see a pride of 4 lazy lions. The third day with the boat cruise to watch hippos was extremely relaxing. highly recommend.

2  Thank kayakgirlVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review I am happy you enjoyed the experience.

regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Tim took us out several days prior to 2014 Comrades to the Drakensberg Mountains to see ancient tribal cave paintings. Several days after Comrades, he loaded us up and took us out to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi National wildlife park for several days.

He is a native Durbaner and really has a comprehensive knowledge of the history, flora and fauna, and social issues of the area. He could see things out of the corner of his eye and then get all of us seeing it (animals, plants, birds, track marks). He has a great demeanour and is easy going. He seems to know all of the locals.

I am sorry we could not do more with him. I would like to come back and stay at one of the more rustic camps.

We stayed at Hilltop Camp which is very comfortable.

1  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Henry and Family

Thank Your for your review. I am grateful that you were able to enjoy two different parts of our beautiful country.

regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tim picked us up promptly and we headed out for one of the most memorable experiences I have ever had. It was an authentic experience once we go to the reserve. That meant looking for poop and track marks to find the animals. No, they do not just appear like at a zoo. We spent a few hours in the morning searching and came across a herd if elephants with calves, buffaloes at a watering hole and lots of impala. After lunch at the Hilltop Cafe we went south of the reserve and spotted giraffes and zebras and hyena tracks. It was truly an amazing experience. Tim is an excellent guide and very knowledgeable on the Zulu history as well as the animals.

Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Anya

Thank you for your great review and glad I could assist im making your tour special.

regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing