We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn B&B in Durban
Ranked #10 of 249 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Ideal location, 5 minute drive from bars and restaurants. Beautiful, relaxed garden area which offered tranquility in the midst of urban surrounds, we enjoyed waking up to bird song. Don went to great trouble to assist us, was highly attentive to detail, and we enjoyed conversing with him on a wide range of subjects. Our room was very comfortable with lovely finishing touches including sherry and an acorn chocolate. We enjoyed a generous and very tasty cooked breakfast. We have already booked to return this month. Thanks Don.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embabi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Acorn B&B looks forward to welcoming you back to your Durban home. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to do a review on Trip Adviser. We appreciate your compliments and hope your next visit is as enjoyable as the 1st.
Thanks and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
3
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Don, you and your staff as well as your product are superior! The rooms are appointed beautifully and with style and your company was lovely. Thanks so much and you will be seeing us again..we loved your BnB.

Room Tip: Number 4 and number 1... great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Acorn B&B loves guest who love us. We look forward to your next visit and hope it is as enjoyable as your 1st.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment favourably on Trip Adviser.
Much appreciated and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The establishment offers excellent service,I was impressed by the host Don Atkinson's overflowing knowledge on a variety of subjects we discussed.The man is attentive to detail and proved beyond reasonable doubt that he is an asset to the travel and tourism industry in the Durban area.I'm an avid traveler to Durban but this was the first time I felt at ease and more importantly at home. Acorn B&B has gone top of my list for places to visit when am in Durban.The feel of nature and art surround the ambient atmosphere.The host also dabbles as an outstanding chef.For those who love HOT Food,I strongly suggest you ask that he offer you some hot sauce.From spacious rooms to an exceptional ever green garden and plenty of artistic art sculptures,I was blown away.I would recommend Acorn B&B to family and friends.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend room 3.Experience is a best teacher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FanyanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Fanyana Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to do a review on Trip Adviser. I hope to see you again soon in your home away from home - Room 3 is waiting!
Much appreciated and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived on a friday and left on a monday.
And the time in between has just been great.

We were brought to Butcher brothers (florida road) by Don ( the boss himselfe!) and had the best food we ever had eaten so far.

Then we realized that every interresting point is just a 20 min. walk from the B&B.

We had a nice group at breakfast and came in touch with these guys as well.

Very lovely service! Good insider Tips and nice atmosphere

thanks for a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Nice rooms, most rooms are upstairs and all have a diferent charme. I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hi Ben Always happy when a visitor is happy with Acorn B&B and what Durban has to offer in general. Still lots to see in Durban so would love to have you back in your home from home.
Thanks very much for taking the time to do a review about my B&B. Much appreciated.
Regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was fortunate enough to land up spending several nights here on an impromptu business adventure. Don (the owner) really is a wonderful host - very accommodating, friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was very spacious and clean.
The bed was HUGE and very comfortable.
The linen was clean and new.
The shower is clean and has good water pressure.
The breakfast was delicious (the supper's even more so).
The rates are very reasonable.

The only thing missing....a small bin in the bedroom =)

All in all...its my new favourite bnb in Durban, and whenever i am working at the harbour again- I'll be staying at Acorn bnb (most certainly)

Thanks for a wonderful homely stay, Don

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Angelica
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a glowing review on your recent stay with us at Acorn B&B. We are inspired by your comments and will definitely make sure the bin which should have been in your room is there the next time you visit us.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Acorn B&B is a very nice place to stay. In a relaxed atmosphere the owner makes you feel at ease and at home.
The accommodation is very good in quiet surroundings. It is clean and has all the required necessities.
In the two weeks spent at Acorn B&B the owner shared his knowledge of Durban and the region, and gave various useful tips for spending time off.
Next stay at Durban will most definitely be at Acorn B&B again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Jos
Thank you for your review, it was much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit to Durban.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Me and my friend had a pleasant stay at the acorn b&b in durban with loads of help. advices and even a personal taxi sometimes. Breakfeast was always delicous and the private talk with the owner of the hotel was always pleasant. Superb holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Florian
It was wonderful getting to know you and showing you around the city I love. Many thanks for the generous comments in the review they are most appreciated. I look forward to your next visit to South Africa
Many thanks and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.4 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn B&B in Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn B&B in Durban

Property: Acorn B&B in Durban
Address: 3 Wolfenden Grove Off Marriott Road | Essenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn B&B in Durban 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I know a place that feels like home..."Set high on the Durban Berea is the exclusive "Acorn B&B in Durban..." An oasis of calm and graciousness, with lush tropical gardens, sparkling pool, and interior comfort, decor and service of the highest international standards.... Whether you're having a refreshing dip in the pool, settling in with a good book under the thatch, or having a quiet drink with friends under the stars, "Acorn B&B in Durban" grounds are conducive to relaxation.We have facilities for outdoor dining as well as braais (barbecues). We are able to host small functions, from secluded high-level business gatherings to intimate cocktail parties. We wish you a pleasant stay and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip! TARRIF: R725 single and R495 sharing Including Breakfast WE HAVE A GENERATOR AND FREE WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing