We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn B&B in Durban

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn B&B in Durban
Ranked #7 of 254 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We were met at the airport by Don the owner of Acorn and had a very informative tour of Durban. The accommodation was excellent and in an accessible position for most of the sights. Don was a mine of information and helped make our short stay very enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi hope you loved us enough to return again one day as there is so much to see and do in Durban. Acorn B&B is so central to everything and I love guests who enjoy the adventure this City has on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
3
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Not being a big fan of B&B's (prefer hotels), I must say I enjoyed my few days that I spent at the Acorn B&B. The rooms are comfortable and and well appointed. It is also closely situated to some of the "in" eating places in Berea and Florida road.

Unfortunately there was no wi-fi available and the desks in the room are a bit small if you want to get some work done.

A wide variety was available for breakfast and will certainly cater for all tastes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Manager at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on your stay at Acorn B&B.
We value your opinion and are very please to see you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your B&B expectations.
We would just like to advise you that we have free WiFi for all our guests to use. It is password protected so please just let us know when you wish to use WiFi and we will gladly give you the password on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The best stay ever in my personal and professional touring experience. The host is a very friendly person and always at his toes to help the guests. I was expecting an official courier and not only the host received on behalf of me but also he took pain in driving to my office to deliver it to me. I appreciate the responsibility shown by the host Mr. Don Atkinson. There are about close to 200 countries from where people have visited this place. One can see it in a big map in the breakfast area where guests put a pin on the map. Don welcomes every guest with the flag of his/her country on the breakfast table. There are lots more to experience than to put in words.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I preferred the one facing the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avisek_sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
What a pleasure it is when guests show their appreciation for the little things done. We aim to make our guests feel at home.
We would love you to come back and visit us again. Thank you for including the photos.
Many thanks for taking a moment from your busy schedule to do this review. I hope this will encourage more visits from your fellow Country man
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eshowe, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wonderful and friendly hosts. We can recommend without hesitation. Everything worked. Safe, off road parking is very important. Very central to most Durban attractions. This two day accommodation was a gift from our daughter ........ we did not ask what it cost them!!! We will select ACORN B AND B when next we have to stay over in Durban.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zs5wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment on your stay with Acorn B&B. We look forward to your next visit in the not too distant future when you come to Durban to visit friends again.
Thank your daughter for her " good taste"!
Kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Ideal location, 5 minute drive from bars and restaurants. Beautiful, relaxed garden area which offered tranquility in the midst of urban surrounds, we enjoyed waking up to bird song. Don went to great trouble to assist us, was highly attentive to detail, and we enjoyed conversing with him on a wide range of subjects. Our room was very comfortable with lovely finishing touches including sherry and an acorn chocolate. We enjoyed a generous and very tasty cooked breakfast. We have already booked to return this month. Thanks Don.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embabi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Acorn B&B looks forward to welcoming you back to your Durban home. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to do a review on Trip Adviser. We appreciate your compliments and hope your next visit is as enjoyable as the 1st.
Thanks and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Don, you and your staff as well as your product are superior! The rooms are appointed beautifully and with style and your company was lovely. Thanks so much and you will be seeing us again..we loved your BnB.

Room Tip: Number 4 and number 1... great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Acorn B&B loves guest who love us. We look forward to your next visit and hope it is as enjoyable as your 1st.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment favourably on Trip Adviser.
Much appreciated and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The establishment offers excellent service,I was impressed by the host Don Atkinson's overflowing knowledge on a variety of subjects we discussed.The man is attentive to detail and proved beyond reasonable doubt that he is an asset to the travel and tourism industry in the Durban area.I'm an avid traveler to Durban but this was the first time I felt at ease and more importantly at home. Acorn B&B has gone top of my list for places to visit when am in Durban.The feel of nature and art surround the ambient atmosphere.The host also dabbles as an outstanding chef.For those who love HOT Food,I strongly suggest you ask that he offer you some hot sauce.From spacious rooms to an exceptional ever green garden and plenty of artistic art sculptures,I was blown away.I would recommend Acorn B&B to family and friends.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend room 3.Experience is a best teacher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FanyanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Fanyana Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to do a review on Trip Adviser. I hope to see you again soon in your home away from home - Room 3 is waiting!
Much appreciated and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.4 mi away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#5 of 254 in Durban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn B&B in Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn B&B in Durban

Property: Acorn B&B in Durban
Address: 3 Wolfenden Grove Off Marriott Road | Berea, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn B&B in Durban 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I know a place that feels like home..."Set high on the Durban Berea is the exclusive "Acorn B&B in Durban..." An oasis of calm and graciousness, with lush tropical gardens, sparkling pool, and interior comfort, decor and service of the highest international standards.... Whether you're having a refreshing dip in the pool, settling in with a good book under the thatch, or having a quiet drink with friends under the stars, "Acorn B&B in Durban" grounds are conducive to relaxation.We have facilities for outdoor dining as well as braais (barbecues). We are able to host small functions, from secluded high-level business gatherings to intimate cocktail parties. We wish you a pleasant stay and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip! TARRIF: R725 single and R495 sharing Including Breakfast WE HAVE A GENERATOR AND FREE WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing